Posted by: simplyelizabeth | March 18, 2008

Ding Dong The Critter’s Gone! – And a little conversation

I told you I would have my way.  It was a harrowing experience at 4am this morning.  I decided to use glue traps.  I put a smidge of peanut butter on them and heard the whole thing happen this morning.  I don’t think I’ll use glue traps again.  I didn’t think the whole thing through and the critter is still alive when it gets caught by a glue trap.  I woke up to little screams this morning and I may need a therapy session if I can’t work through this today.  Honest to goodness, I didn’t know they could scream that way.  It kept screaming too.  (Later, after the ordeal was over and DH and I were discussing it, he said if I’d listened closely I could have heard it saying, “Help Me!” I told DH  that’s what I thought I heard.  How did he know?)  It was like a bad episode of The Twilight Zone.  I told DH he needed to protect he and his family from this horror taking place in our bedroom.  I am not at liberty to share details, but the varmint is no longer in our house.  If you know and see my DH, tell him his DW said, “I married a burly man, not a girly man.”  That’s all I have to say about that.  Just pray that I will not have nightmares tonight as I sleep and if I do that DH is able to talk me down and comfort me.  It is finished.  Amen.  Halleluiah!  Praise the Lord! 

 Now, on to my DD.  This is an informational piece for all those with daughters just entering their teen years or have them yet to come.  We have noticed strange behavior in our house since DD has entered Jr. High.  She’s a bit more flakey, spacey and even a little more moody some days.  I know this is hard to believe of a teenage child, but it’s true my friends.  This past weekend we found the answer as to why these changes occur.  Evidently their brains drop down to their pinky toes.  Don’t laugh!  It’s true!  We discovered this as DD and DH were wrestling and she hit her pinky toe on the leg of the sofa.  Of course the wrestling immediately ceased because of the injury and DD retreated to the couch on the other side of the room.  Momments later, I asked DD a question.  There was no reply from her.  I asked again and still no reply.  I then did what mother’s have done for centuries in order to make their young pay attention and said, “Hey!  I’m talking to you.  Listen!”  She turned around in a fog and said, “Oh!  You were talking to me.  My brain is not working very well right now because my pinky toe really hurts.”  DH dwelled on the comment for about 5 seconds and then said to me, “Well Elizabeth, that’s her problem.  Her brain is in her pinky toe and it takes a long time for her thoughts to travel up through her body.”  You know, not only is DH a rugged, burly man, but I think he’s a genius too.  I think he’s on to something. 

Responses

  1. Once again I am laughing while reading, and my 2 year old is wondering what is wrong with me!!

  2. Oh, Elizabeth. I think I’m going to call the humane shelter for the unethical treatment of critters. A glue trap? Well, I can’t wait to hear what this noise sounded like. You’ll have to imitate for me.
    You are one funny mama.

  3. I really needed a laugh today & this worked, Thanks. I wonder if when my boys get to be teens their brains will be in their pinky toes also?!?

  4. Too funny – I’m laughing so hard I’m crying! Misty says you need these plug-in things they have that are to keep mice away.


Leave a Reply

Categories

