Posted by: simplyelizabeth | March 24, 2008

I know you’re sitting on the edge of your seat!

How do I know this?  Because yesterday was Easter Sunday and after we go to church to celebrate our Risen Saviour (Halleluiah!) we all go to some large family dinner and stuff our faces.  What does that have to do with sitting on the edge of your seat?  Well, if you’re like me, (I’ll add you to the prayer list if you are) then you ate so much that the edge of the seat is the only place you’ll fit because your hips got a little wider after Easter dinner and you can’t scoot back in your chair without the arms gouging you in the side.  Aren’t these happy thoughts?  See why you need prayer if you’re like me? 

 Truly though, what a blessed Sunday.  Every Sunday is blessed, but Easter is so special because of what it stands for.  Christians are the only people that serve a living God.  How incredible is that?!?  I mean, He is with us all the time and He wants to be with us.  I like to think of myself as a people person, but I can’t think of anyone that I would want to be with 24/7/365.  Can you?  What’s more is He not only wants to be with us, but He wants to better us by teaching and refining us.  He wants the best for us.  Wow!   This doesn’t mean He wants to make it easy – we wouldn’t learn – but if we follow Him, He’ll make it the best.  Wow again!  OK, I’ve gotten a little deep here and I need to come up for air.  I’m a little heavier today than I was yesterday, so I feel I’m sinking fast. 

Now on to my little darlins’.  I feel that we focus on Jesus for Easter Sunday, but the Easter bunny does make an appearance.  DS#2 was asking about EB and whether or not he was real.  I asked him what he thought.  He said he thought EB was real.  DS#1 was in on the conversation as well and he too decided EB was real.  I told them I thought they were right.  DS#2 got really excited and said, “So he really is real and doesn’t have a zipper down his back or anything!”  I assured him EB has no zipper down his back.  I was glad we covered it because that could make for some rather disturbing childhood memories.  We then talked about what Easter really means, and DS#1, ever the over achiever and all around kiss up, recited John 3:16 for us.  What do you know!  Once in awhile there are glimmers of hope that peep through between the potty humor and wrestling. 

DS #3 must have been feeling left out last night.  We sat down to watch a family movie that the EB brought.  We chose to have popcorn  for dinner since we had eaten ourselves into a semi-comatose state at my mom’s house.  We had the lights off for the premium movie experience.  About 1/2 way through the movie, we noticed a child was missing.  I don’t know how long he’d been missing, but he was definitely not with the rest of us.  We called for him and he was in the bathroom.  This is never a good scenario because he has a fascination with water in the bathroom.  He came out holding his empty popcorn bowl.  It was wet.  I asked what happened to the popcorn that was in the bowl.  He said it was dirty and needed cleaned out.  He was now ready for new popcorn.  I peered into the bathroom to find a sink full of soggy popcorn.  Gross!  I guess better the sink than the toilet.  Once again, aren’t you amazed at the refinement that exists within the walls of our house.

Blessings & Hugs, Elizabeth 

Responses

  1. Don’t worry, you won’t be sitting on the edge of your seat for long, we’ll get back on the workout schedule. This one was really good, liked the “deepness” of it.


Leave a Reply

Categories

