Posted by: simplyelizabeth | May 12, 2008

Happy Mother’s Day – Belated

I feel like that’s been me for years, belated.  I’m adopted, so I don’t know what my due date was, but I’m guessing I was belated to that too.  (Sorry birth mom, wherever you are)  I hope you all had a good Mother’s Day.  I did.  I must brag on my DD.  A couple of weeks ago, my DD invited me over to my mother’s house for a special lunch the Saturday before Mother’s Day. I marked it down.  Well, she and my mama fixed a tea type lunch and invited one the dearest friends ever to be dropped into my life.  She had the table set for us and served us an appetizer, main course and dessert and kept our drinks filled.  It was so sweet!  And as if that wasn’t enough, she got up and fixed breakfast yesterday morning.  She fixed French Toast, smokey links and made sure I had a Starbucks Frappaccino (sp?) too.  Man!  Do I love those things!  It was precious!  Also, she included a little poem that was right up my alley.  It read:

Dear Mom – As you know, you are the best-and you deserve some much needed rest – I will try not to complain – and keep you from going insane – you have always been kind and kept us well fed – so this morning I will serve you breakfast in bed!! – Happy Mother’s Day – PS: And that’s the way you want it!

If you’re confused by the “that’s the way you want it” part, let me explain.  Several months ago our pastor was preaching on being careful with your words.  The Bible tells us to ask and we will receive and it works for good as well as bad.  Sometimes we don’t know that we’re “asking” for things when we speak in the negative.  Our pastor suggested saying, “And that’s the way I want it!” after we make statements.  I’m pretty sure he didn’t meant it this way, but it has become a running joke in our house.  An example might be if the family is going on an outing and maybe one of the children is not so keen on the idea.  I might say, “You are going.  You will have a good time.  And that’s the way you want it!”  My DD likes to toot her own horn and tell me how wonderful she is.  She’ll then say, “And that’s the way you want it!”  It may sound silly, but most “family jokes” are. 

Anyway, my DH fixed me lunch and got me what I asked, the boys did what their grandma told them to do for me and my DD took it to heart and melted mine.  The day was good.  Can’t ask for much more than that.

Hugs & Blessings, Elizabeth

Responses

  1. I’m so glad you had a good Mother’s Day…breakfast and lunch! You have a special family, and it is good to feel appreciated…at least every once in a while. 🙂 Sounds like they did a great job!

  2. Wow! How very cool – I told Misty this yesterday – as she has a DD that did neat writings for her, too – I was blessed with boys & never get any of that stuff (poems, etc) – good for your DD!


Leave a Reply

Categories

