Posted by: simplyelizabeth | May 13, 2008

The Road of Good Intentions

I have a story to share.  It made me laugh, so I hope you’ll find it worthy of laughter as well.  I don’t know about you, but I am full of ideas, really good ideas, to better my life by make things easier, organizing my house and make healthier eating/excercising choices.  I know all these things would work, yet the discipline to see these ideas to fruition (I love that word!) escapes me.  I think that means I’m lazy.  I also know, without a shadow of a doubt, that my devotional and prayer time affects the quality of each day.  I have found, as have many others, that if I start my day  with the Lord it seems to be easier to handle.  I’m not saying I don’t encounter set backs or things that irritate me, but when I put Him first, He sets my mind on the things of above.   Once again, I do not accomplish this on a daily basis.  I will say it happens more than not, but I’ll be honest and say I am not as disciplined in this area as I should be either.  We’ll peg this on Satan and the forces of evil.  (I can’t say I’m lazy about everything!) They exist my friend, they really do.  I say all this to let you know, I cannot throw stones for I Iive in a glass house too. 

Now, on to the story. (All names have been changed to protect the involved parties.) I have a dear friend, Imogene, who has been feeling called to prayer and devotional time in the morning.  She has been feeling this call for at least two months.  I know this because she shared this information with our Sunday school class at the First Missionary Southern Baptist Church of the Eastern Region of the Midwest Halleluiah Congregation last Saturday. (I like this making up name stuff!)  She shared that it seems everything from a conversation with a friend to our Sunday school lesson itself has been telling her to get her behind in gear in the morning and share quality time with the Lord.  She has read it on blogs she reads, heard it in songs and I even think she said something to the effect that God sent her a personal invitation in the mail.  Imogene!  For the Love of everything that is good and Holy, get up and talk to God!  (There, now she’s read it here too!  I didn’t want to feel left out and since I like to talk I see no reason why God shouldn’t use me as a messenger too. 🙂 ) 

I’m so sorry.  I digress.  This all came to my attention this morning when I was speaking with Imogene through email and she told me of the horrible morning she had yesterday.  She just couldn’t get it together.  She had no time for herself and barely time for her daughter.  The phone kept ringing, she’s trying to potty train Little LuLu and she felt the whole world closing in on her.  Poor Imogene did not even have time to put on an undergarment that all women need after having children – oh yes you do – I don’t care how perky you were before, you’re not now.  So, she’s running around putting out fires and what does she see out her kitchen window?  Two men in black suits.  They were not Tommy Lee Jones and Will Smith so it had to be the IRS or Jehovah’s Witnesses.  Guess what.  It wasn’t the IRS either.  When you belong to the First Missionary Southern Baptist Church of the Eastern Region of the Midwest Halleluiah Congregation, you just don’t subscribe to what Jehovah’s Witnesses subscribe.  Once again, Poor Imogene!  Oh Imogene! Please listen to God and Get Up Girl!  God is even sending other religions after you to get your attention.  (God can do that you know.  God can do anything He wants because He’s God.  Look back at the book of Samuel and see how he kept David safe while Saul was in power.)  So, to my dear friend Imogene, I am here for you.  Let me know how I can help you get your time in the morning.  Life is too short for God to have to send men in black suits after you.   Love in Christ Sister Imogene!  We’re all on your side! 

Blessings & Hugs, Elizabeth 

Responses

  1. Oh, Imogene! When will you ever learn??? You know God getting tired of it when He pulls out the JW’s! Silly, silly Imogene…

  2. I think that maybe our Sunday School class should do an intervention for Imogene, since God has now enlisted the JW’s!!!! 🙂


Leave a Reply

Categories

