Posted by: simplyelizabeth | May 15, 2008

Weight Watchers

Yes maam.  I said it.  Just saying those words makes me feel like I’m starving and I’m never going to be able to eat again.  However, I joined it yesterday and it was gloom and despair when I hit the scale.  I wanted to litteraly hit the scale, jump up and down on it and throw it against the wall.  I didn’t think that would be appropriate behavior in public, especially since my mom was in line behind me.  One of the things I learned early on as a child is you Do Not embarrass your parents by behaving badly and throwing the Weight Watcher scales to smash them into a million pieces would be considered behaving badly in some circles.  Of course this would all be misplaced aggression as well.  It’s not the scale’s fault that I’ve chosen to indulge as often as I have the last 10 or 20 years or so.  I just really like food.  All kinds of food.  Food is my friend.  It comforts me in times of trouble.  It celebrates with me in times of joy.  It keeps me from being bored.  It’s been with me through all the really important things that have happened in my life.  (See the Thank You to BooMama blog or revisit it if you need your memory to be refreshed – it’s listed in the top posts next to this.)  I LOVE FOOD! 

I’m feeling a bit like Imogene.  I know what I need to do, but I’m not doing it.  I’m afraid food might be my “golden calf” and you know what happened to those involved with the whole incident.  If you don’t know, check out Exodus 32.  It’s not good people!  I really don’t want my Heavenly Father to reprimand me in that way.  I don’t believe he will resort to those measures with me, however I have been misbehaving in the food department. 

So here’s the grand plan – I’m going to lose weight.  While it may be painful at times, I know I will enjoy the end result.  I think so anyway.  In addition to Weight Watchers, I’m going to reread a book called “Balance That Works When Life Doesn’t”  by Susie Larson.  It’s an awesome read and has study material in it as well.  It really puts things in perspective and the importance of putting God first – even in the morning Imogene. It also describes my life on a day by day basis.  Balance escapes me.  But if I lose some weight, I’ll have more energy which will in return help me to organize my house which in return will help me to organize my family which in return will inspire me to write of my experience and how God led me which in return will lead to speaking engagements and me leaving my JOB to be a work at home mom and you can say you knew me when. 🙂 This is going to be great!  Want to come for ride?

Blessings & Hugs, Elizabeth

Responses

  1. What a big step! I’m proud of you, and Imogene is getting the hint. She sleeps in too late AND she looks like there is a baby in her tummy. Maybe she should reread that balance book. It’s a really good one. 🙂
    Hang in there, woman! Keep your end in mind…finish the race.

  2. Now we just need to find that dang DVD, and we would be all set!!! 🙂


Leave a Reply

Categories

