Posted by: simplyelizabeth | May 29, 2008

The Big And Little Story

Here it is!  It’s what you’ve been waiting to read and didn’t even know it!  I hope you can appreciate the tale I’m about to tell.  The material contained within this post may be considered controversial by some.  There may also be some graphic content and language.  Reluctant permission was obtained to tell the following.

A couple of weeks ago, our church had their Mother/Daughter baquet.  I mentioned it several posts ago.  I got home late that evening.  It was late enough that my dear family was in bed and asleep when I got home.  (I had been having good conversation with a friend, and I just couldn’t bring myself to end it.) I got ready for bed and slid in next to my DH.  I put my arm around him, thinking him asleep, and he rolled over to talk.  I was glad he was awake.  I love late night chats in bed, alone.  🙂  He asked me how everything went and I told him all the wonderful testamonies that were spoken, how precious DD was when she spoke and about the food and tears.  He was happy for the success.  Then came the best part of night.  My husband shared his evening with me and I laughed so hard I almost had an accident right there in bed. (We’re both glad I didn’t.)  I hope I can do it justice.

DH said, “Your son . . . . ” That’s never a good way to start a conversation.  I said, “Don’t say he’s mine.  I was just the incubator for nine months.”  DH, “Well, anyway, I was in the bathroom – using it – and he came in.  He said he had to go to.  He walked up next to me, pulled down his pants and started going.  I couldn’t stop midstream!”  (DH is a pretty modest fellow.  I don’t understand how you grow up in a house with three other boys and are modest, but he is.  I try to respect it.  Kids never respect modesty – unless it’s about them.)  There’s a part of me that finds the visual scenario of this more than amusing.  There’s another part of me that finds it sweet that my littlest guy thought he could bond with his Daddy at the toilet, no matter how off the whole thing sounds.   He (DS #3) felt there were no barriers, it was just two guys hanging out – interpret that however you may.  The “special moment”, we’ll call it that, didn’t end there.  DS#3 looked up at his Daddy and said ever so tenderly, “Daddy, when get as big as you are, will my peepee be as big as yours?”  Well now, what’s a Daddy to do with that question?  I thought he should see it as a compliment myself.  Poor DH, I don’t think he replied – but he did tell DS#3 what is appropriate to do and not to do in the bathroom.  Speaking of peepee size is not appropriate – even if it’s complimenting the other guy. 

I know this “special moment” is a story that will be told and told again in our family.  I look forward to the family God has planned for DS#3 so we can lovingly share stories of family bonding like this one.  It’s good to have positive examples to pass on.  Precious, prescious memories.  I know you all have these kinds of stories in your homes too.  Hang on to them dear ones. 

Blessings & Hugs, Elizabeth

Responses

  1. Ha!! I have always asked Paul to describe a bathroom experience for me (in public). Like, I always picture the guys walking up to the urinal, sharing nice conversations, and maybe even a compliment now and then. He says, “You just stare straight ahead. No eye contact, no words.” Booooring. I think DS #3 is on to something.

  2. Oh my goodness…this was absolutely too precious…out of the mouths of babes!


Leave a Reply

Categories

