Posted by: simplyelizabeth | July 9, 2008

I See The Light! (somedays better than others)

Yesterday was a GOOD day as in God is Good All the Time and All the Time, God is Good!  I took the day off to purge and get things ready for a garage sale.  Angie came over to help.  (She still likes me quite a bit even though I belittled her about her driving skills.)  There was an Exodus of my boys to their grandma’s house for the better part of the day.  Can I just say, that in itself was a miracle.  Truly, truly I say to you it was.  Grandma raised one girl and the thought of spending an entire day with three boys makes her break out in hives.  The thought that I want to get my house in order and cleared out makes her ignore the hives and any twitches she may acquire while with my little darlins’.  I think she almost felt inspired because as my DD says, “She’s the Clean Queen.”  Three little boys are not very often clean and all the time curious, thus they wear her down, wring her out and just exhaust her in general.  They behave when they are with her – she’ll tell you that too – they are just busy little people.  I dare to say it will take a couple of days for my dear mother to recover.  Back to Angie, I owe her mother a tribute as well because this is where Angie’s two little darlin’s resided while we did some back breaking renovations to my humble home.  Maybe a nice plate of cookies for her mama are in order.  Angie double sacrificed to help because she gave me her time and used up one of her “Mama, can you help me?” cards as well.  Those are precious cards my friends.  We must all use them wisely. 

So . . . . our accomplishments you ask?  The boys room and 1/2 of my bed room.  It may not sound like much to you, but you didn’t see it to begin with.  I’ve now got 5 Rubber Maid storage tubs of garage sale material.  Woo Hoo!  I also had 5 trash bags of junk.  Woo Hoo!  I just love purging!  It gives you a sense of release and accomplishment to get rid of the unnecessary things in your house/life.  We worked 3 long hours in the boys room.  Yes, they all live in the same room.  Bunk beds are a blessing, most of the time.  Their room looks great! Part of my room looks great.  When they boys came back last night, DS #2 said, “Thank you for cleaning our room mom.  You’re the best mom in the whole world.  I love you!”  Really, he did.  He’s been quite generous with compliments lately and I think his future wife will appreciate that I encourage him to be appreciative.    I have threatened them all within inches of their lives if they make it that messy again.  There’s a new rule and I going to be ruthless about making them stick to it.  One toy at a time – put it back together and back in it’s spot when you’re done.  I can’t tell you what I said would happen if they do not follow the rule.  Well, I could tell you, but you may think the punishment excessive, call the authorities and I just don’t have time to deal with all that.  I’m sure you understand. 

May you all feel on top of your game today and reside in God’s grace and mercy.  Oh!  And a BIG thanks to Angie, Angie’s mom and my Dear Mother!  Hillary Clinton once said it takes a village to raise a child, but I think it takes a village for me to get some housework done.

Blessings & Hugs, Elizabeth

PS – Fun Fact about Angie – she loves onion rings, but she does not like raw onions on things.  Hmmmm.  Something to ponder.

Responses

  1. Yay for productivity! I’m so happy that you got so much done. It does feel like such a load off when those loads go into five garbage bags and Totes. Glad you had Angie there to keep it from being overwhelming and help it to be more fun. I hope your garage sale goes really well.

  2. Sounds like you got a lot accomplished!!! I’m glad. But I’m with Angie, I like onion rings, but hate onions on anything else. I also like banana bread, but hate banana’s.


Leave a Reply

Categories

