Posted by: simplyelizabeth | July 17, 2008

I’m sorry

I have to apologize before I even start because I know this post is going to be full of random thoughts, but I felt the call to blog.  I could blog everyday if I could just make up my mind and stick to a single subject.  The last two days I’ve wanted to write about how purging our lives of things we don’t need, much like I did for my garage sale, can bring us closer to our Heavenly Father.  I use the term things loosely because I’m referring to thoughts and habits we possess that simply clutter up our lives. 

I’ve also wanted to write about women and our relationships with each other.  You know, there’s nothing quite as refreshing as a good relationship with a good girlfriend, but what happens when we turn on each other?  Don’t give me that deer in the headlights look! You know exactly what I’m talking about babe!  Sometimes we’re just down right nasty with each other and sometimes we disguise it as concern and sometimes we . . . . .well I better not tell anymore secret sisterhood stuff.  Maybe I should shoot this idea to a reality show – billions of men would watch to see how long it took to get a really good cat fight going – I think there could be some real marketing potential to this idea my friends! Of course, this has nothing to do with bringing us closer to our Heavenly Father, unless there’s some evangelizing and some lives get saved on the set.  I can see some baptisms in the bathroom already!  “Get saved or I’ll give you a swirly!”  Whoa!  I’d better back off the sugar.  See what I mean, focus is difficult for me right now.

There are all kinds of little gems coming out of my children’s mouths, but I can only share so much before I must fear that you, being of good conscious morals, will turn me and mine into the authorities.  I will share a recent lunch conversation, if you insist.  DS #1, “Mommy, we were watching Tom & Jerry and now Daddy won’t let us turn it back.”  Me, “Maybe Daddy thought it was his turn for the TV.  What is this anyway?”  DS#2, “We don’t know what it is, but it’s got bad stuff in it.  We shouldn’t be allowed to watch it.  Make him change it back!”  DS#1, “Somebody got killed and there was blood and it scared me.  Daddy really shouldn’t have this on.”  Don’t you love how they know what’s right when it benefits them?  It was a dective movie.  Somebody has to get killed or there’s nothing to detect.  Right?  Their pleas won out.

I’ve also got thoughts on organization in the home.  Is it fact or fiction?  Is is all just a pretty facade to fool people?  Are organized people truly organized, or do they just bark orders better than others?  Does organization squelch creativity?  Does organization kill fun?  I’m not having much fun unorganized, but I’m not completely convinced I’ll have more fun if I am organized.  At my office, a guy drops off books for us to look at and possibly purchase 4x’s a year.  This last time there was a book about organizing your home and the cover shows an open cabinet with everything in its proper place.  I picked it up and said to a coworker, “Who’s house really looks like this?  Does anybody really live this way?”  Her response, “Martha Stewart.”  Me, “Martha lives alone and has many assistants.  I live with many people and sometimes have trouble getting any assistance.”  (Like my cute play on words?  I just love it when I’m feeling clever!)

So I’ve also been thinking about, “What do I want to do when I grow up?”  I’m not unhappy or disatisfied with life.  I have a very full life. (Remember there’s Jesus, a husband, a teenage daughter and 3 boys, a mother and a JOB outside the home as well as one inside.)  I just have this burning desire to, well I just can’t seem to put my finger on it.  Maybe I can put my finger on it but I’m not ready to share it.  (No, I don’t have a burning desire to be a belly dancer.   I’m a big whimp and try to avoid pain.  If your mQuit letting your mind wander! That’s my job today!) 

Let’s chat!  Do you have a burning desire?  (Keep it clean folks)  If you could have any job in the world, what would it be?  I look forward to hearing from you!

Blessings & Hug, Elizabeth

Oh yeah!  I’m sorry again for the rambling.  I’ll try to focus next time.  If I remember.  Maybe.  I can’t make any promises!

Responses

  1. Hmmm, I have a burning desire to never do laundry again. I have a burning desire to eat whatever I want whenever I want and not have to consider the consequences. I have a burning desire that women not turn on each other (my interest is piqued over this blog topic!). Good stuff!

  2. I love my job..mostly because I have the privilege of developing so many new relationships!
    I love love love my friends!! &”the life-giving power of community” book study (remember-“this is friendship”)!
    I also love listening to “living on the edge” with Chip Ingram and his latest sermon series on “Good to Great in God’s Eyes–Develop Great Habits”. He has a blog too http://chipingram.typepad.com/
    “& just something to think about:
    it’s what I call the Dr. Phil question — as you see your life living as you are now (surrendered to something, or someone, or some goal, or some believe about future success/achievement/fame/wealth etc. etc.) — —
    How is that working for you?”

  3. I have a secret burning desire to be a rock star. But shhhh don’t tell anyone!! 🙂

  4. I have a burning desire to wake up with two paramedics around me holding a cat….;)


Leave a Reply

Categories

