Posted by: simplyelizabeth | July 18, 2008

Additional Rambling

Well, it appears I can get you all to comment when I ramble, so here goes again!  Hang on to your pants!  Fasten your seatbelts!  It’s going to be a bumpy ride and I’m not sure to where it will lead.  We may end up discussing women’s mud wrestling or have a “Come to Jesus” meeting.  I know it won’t be both though.  I don’t think you can mix those two things up.  Although, wouldn’t it be interesting if you could?  Naw – too messy.  I suppose we could discuss them both as long as we keep them seperate.

Let’s start with women’s mud wrestling.  I say this because I think my thoughts on women yesterday may have concerned some of you.  I say to you truly, it’s all in good fun.  As a matter of fact, one of my friends and I (yes, I have more than one friend) stopped in a local gas station/convenience store and Terri (the manager of the place, Goddess of the Snacky Foods and Grand Pooba (Remember the Flinstones?) of the Best Coke Machine This Side of the Mississippi) told me she had read the whole thing and had gotten an email just that day about women’s habits and was going to forward it to me.  (Where is it Terri?  I’m waiting.)  I say to you truly, again, if you have ever worked with more than one woman, lived in a college dorm, gone to overnight camp or possibly you have many sisters, I know you can all relate.  I really haven’t said anything about women’s mud wrestling, other than this is the third time I’ve repeated the phrase.  It’s kinda fun to say.  Maybe I could incorporate it into that new reality show I was telling you about yesterday.  Thoughts on the matter?

Ouch! I just realized I used parenthesis within parenthesis up above.  I can hear my High School English teacher saying bad things about me.  Sorry Mrs. Mulvaney!  Oops!  I think there’s a run on sentence happening as well.  I bet you didn’t know we’d be taking this direction in the conversation.  Did you?  I love the element of surprise!

Let’s round this out with the “Come to Jesus” meeting.  If you have not had the opportunity to experience Jesus in your life, let me take this moment to share with you.  Let me start by telling you what will not happen when you turn your life over to Him.  1. You will not be made perfect instantaneously.  2. You will not become a boring person.  3. You will not have all the fun sucked out of your life.  4. You will not have a rule book that’s impossible to follow.  5.  I’ll have to address #5 in a different post because I can’t think of #5 right now, but I know it’s good to decorate in odd numbers, so it must be good to list things in odd numbers too.   Now, let me share what will happen.  1. All your sins will be washed away.  In laymens terms, all the things you’ve done that you shouldn’t have done, will be forgiven and washed away.  It’s wonderful, clean feeling.  It’s better than a cool shower after hot work in the sun.  2. You will have the desire to do His will.  His will is always best.  Think of the show Father Knows Best.  3. There truly is a peace that passes understanding.  You may think you’ve know peace, but unless you’ve turned your life over to Jesus, you really don’t.  OK, I don’t want you to think I’m getting preachy on you or holier than thou, but it’s a decision you’ll never regret.  It’s the most important decision you’ll ever make in your life.  You may now be thinking marriage is the most important decision because that’s who you will live with the rest of your life.  You right – it’s a biggie – but who are you going to live with for eternity?  I will leave you with precious  words from DS#1.  Last year he decided give his life to Jesus.  Eternity and the prospect of spending it in what he termed “the bad place” was weighing heavy on his little heart.  He talked to me about it and said, “I want to ask Jesus to come clean out my heart right now. ”  He did.  I cried.  It was good.  God said so.  Do you need your heart cleaned out?

Let’s end this with one more conversation from DS#1.  On Wednesday nights, our kids go to AWANA.  It’s a church program just for kiddos.  They start out every night together in the sanctuary and then divide up into age appropriate groups.  One day, while we were in the van, DS#1 said, “Mommy, there’s a woman that says a bad word at AWANA every time.”  Me, “Oh, I don’t think so.  What does she say?”  DS#1, “She says H___.” (the bad place)   Me,”When does she say that?”  DS#1, “When we sing that song.”  Me, “What song?”  DS#1, “The AWANA song.”  A light went off in my head,  “Oh my goodness.  She’s saying HAIL AWANA, not the bad word.”  It’s all good now.  No one is saying h___ in the sancutary and now no one thinks anyone else is saying it either.  🙂 

Have a great weekend my friends! Blessings & Hugs, Elizabeth

Leave a Reply

Categories

