Posted by: simplyelizabeth | July 31, 2008

It Was Just A Small Fire – Really – Well, Two Small Fires

But they were contained – in my oven.  I used to pride myself on cooking well.  I used to pride myself on my culinary skills.  I really think it’s how I got my husband.  I make a killer roast with gravy and veggies in the crock pot.  You may be thinking, “So what.  A roast in the crock pot is no big deal.”  I would beg to differ with you if you have not had my roast.  Since I’ve had my four children, I don’t feel so inspired anymore when I cook.  With one, I still loved it.  With two, it was a challenge in which to rise.  Then came three and four, and most days I just don’t have the inspiration I used to.  Those little suckers can really wear you out!  I think they’re sometimes called suckers because you feel the life draining out of you somedays when you’re dealing with them.

Saturday afternoon I was working on laundry.  We’d had a mid-morning snack, so lunch time passed by before I noticed.  We discussed different ideas for lunch and decided we’d have battered fish fillets (Thanks Gordon’s Fisherman!) and I’d make seasoned potato wedges.  (I knew I needed to carbo load to finish my day.) I have many a time placed my frozen, battered fish on cookie sheets to bake.  I have also placed potato wedges drizzled with olive oil and special secret seasoning on a cookie sheet to bake as well.  I saw no reason to make this day any different.  I will from now on.  The short of the story is I lovingly placed the meal I was fixing in the oven at 425 degrees.  Then in the eternal words of the Ron-co man – “I set it and forget it!”  I set the timer, shut the door and took a rest from my busy morning.  (It really was busy!)  I forgot about it too, until I turned to look in the kitchen and saw smoke rising from the grates on my oven.  I guess that’s the only way it could escape.  I hopped up and thought, “Darn!  There’s something burning on the bottom of the oven.”  I did not know that I would see little flames wavering on the bottom of the oven.  I turned the oven off and the fan on just in time for the smoke detector to go off.  I said, “Uh, honey.  There are flames in the bottom of the oven.”  (I tried to remain calm.)  DH tried to remain calm too.  He came into the kitchen and said, “Well, by golly there are.”  We stood and looked at it a minute because it really wasn’t out of control and it was inside something – not out loose where it could get us.  He said to give him another cookie sheet.  I did and he slid it on the bottom of the oven and the flame immediately went out.  The olive oil on the potatoes was the culprit, so I put foil around the edges of the cookie sheet to keep it from happening again.  I should have done the same for the fish because it wasn’t ten minutes later the whole thing was happening again.  Yeah, we’re near geniuses in our house.  This time it wasn’t as bad though because we knew exactly what to do.  Experience is a good thing.  Believe it or not, we still ate the lunch and it was just fine.  DS #3 was the only child home and told me I was a good cook and it was the best lunch he ever had – you know, in all four years of his life.  He also couldn’t wait to tell his other two brothers that mommy set the oven on fire.  Because they are boys, I was looked upon with respect for the rest of the weekend.  I think DS#1 and DS#2 were sorry they missed the excitement. 

Blessings & Hugs, Elizabeth

Responses

  1. Boys love pyromania in their very own house. It is a rule of boyhood to get excited over such things. Way to go on keeping it contained, and still having a delicious lunch to boot!


Leave a Reply

Categories

