Posted by: simplyelizabeth | August 21, 2008

It was a little trip, but a lot of stuff

The Happy Family

The Happy Family

Oh my gosh!  I did it!  I posted a picture.  This may not be the best family pic, but I think it shows that we were all in very good spirits.  Even DD was smiling and she doesn’t like her picture taken.  Don’t mind the date stamp in the middle of DS#3’s eye.  We have since remedied that situation from happening again.  We wen to South Haven Michigan for a small getaway and had a ball.  This was from Saturday evening at the beach.  It was starting to get a bit cool (evidence of DD’s crossed arms and the long sleeves on the rest of us except for my manly man of a hubby) but I was bound and determined I was going to get some cool sunset pics!  I told them all to quit their whining and smile!  It turned out to be a pretty good, somewhat candid shot.  If I were The Pioneer Woman, I’m sure I could’ve done more with the pic, but I’m not and I didn’t.

 

 This would be the day before with the little darlins’ playing in the sand. 

 

 

 

This is obviously DD.  On the Sunday we left, we decided to go to McD’s to soften the blow of leaving the beach behind for all concerned.  I told DD and asked if she thought it would help her sadness.  Her reply was that what would soften the blow for her would be to stop at the chocolate shop in town, by our van.  Now, how can any woman deny her daughter chocolate I ask you.  I did not.  I feel like she’s following in my footsteps and it was almost a right of passage moment for me.  My baby’s growing up!  (boohoo)  She’s already relying on chocolate to help ease pain.  Who says codependency is a bad thing?

The lots of stuff thing in the title you say?  Well, my goodness!  We tried to all pack effeciently and our hatch in the van was almost a site hazard for DH.  Not only did we have clothes and beach attire, but we also had stuff for lunch.  We were trying to be economical.  It worked out very well for us.  I thought the kiddos may fuss and want to eat out, but they were quite happy.  I was glad they were satisfied.  I could be wrong, but I really don’t remember any melt downs or seeing them be ungrateful little people.  OK, there was one, but I won’t go into the details because I’d like to forget it and remember it as the perfect short trip.

Let me share some other shots with you since I now know how to post pics.  (Wow!  I feel so grown up!  Almost like I could be a techie.  Hope is everywhere.) I hope you enjoy!

 

 

Blessings & Hugs, Elizabeth

Responses

  1. Those pictures are gorgeous! I have been waiting…and waiting…and waiting…for a blog about your vacation. It’s like you’ve been busy or something. 🙂 I love the pictures. They add a lot to the bloginess of it all. Good job, techno geek!

  2. The pictures are great!! You need to enter in a photo contest! Glad you had fun – isn’t it great when there are no meltdown! Life is good!

  3. “No doubt about it! God is good” Psalm 73:1 The MSG

    Love the pics of the happy family captured in the happy moments!

    “God has given us these times of joy.” Psalm 84:1 TLB


Leave a Reply

Categories

