Posted by: simplyelizabeth | August 27, 2008

What Now?

I’m going to ramble a little today.  No pics, just words.  I’ll have more pics tomorrow.  I promise!

Well, DS #2 had his first full day of kindergarten and he called me to tell me it was a good day and he stayed on the green apple.  This is good.  If you stay on the green apple, you are apparently listening, not talking to your neighbor and just being generally a good kid.  If you get your name moved to the yellow apple, you’ve gotten a warning.  The move to the red apple is bad.  Very bad.  In our house, if you get moved to the red apple, whatever happens at school will be a walk in the park compared to what happens at home.  Was is that way for you too? 

I had it really bad growing up because my Dad was my elementary/jr. high principal and my mom taught 5th grade in the school I went to.  The Good Lord help me if I ever got sent to the principal’s office because I lived with the principal.  Thank goodness it only happened once.  I had a rotten little friend that tattled on me and two of my other friends.  We were in the bathroom – all in one stall – talking about super secret stuff that 2nd graders need to talk about and two of us were standing on the toilet.  How else were the three of us supposed to fit in the stall I ask you?  I mean, the bathroom was the only “private” place you could have a conversation in grade school and going in a bathroom stall was the way to insure your privacy.  Unless of course there was a little tattle tale-sneak-do gooder trying to make brownie points with the teacher and get the principal’s kid in trouble.  Rotten kid!  Anyway, my friends and I got to visit my dad in his office-a very unpleasant experience-and he told us he was disappointed in us for disobeying and that he expected more of us than that.  I’m breaking out in a sweat just remembering the experience and my dad has been gone for 12 years.  My heart is palpitating and I may start to hyperventilate.  Wow!  I’d better move on to another subject!

How about the really great things that my kids say.  For instance, a couple of days ago my DD came to me and said, “Do you know what DS #3 just said to me?”  If she was asking, I obviously didn’t.  I replied, “No.  What did he say?”  I really didn’t want to know.  He says many things I wish he wouldn’t.  She said, “He said ‘Move outa my way!  I goin’ to da batroom you dummyhead!’ ”  Wow!  What a kid!  The disrespect for others and lack of manners is astounding, isn’t it?  Surprisingly, I’m not surprised.  The really bad thing is his sister thought it was funny so she laughed.  Nothing like positive reinforcement for good behavior.

DS #3 had to get some shots today.  Yuk!  Fun for all involved.  He was asking DS #2 about it this morning.  He wanted to know if it would hurt.  DS #2 told him, “It will hurt, but if Mommy holds you, it won’t hurt as bad.”  I love that kid!  He thinks I made it better.  DS #3 didn’t see it that way today.  He screamed, “Ow! Ow! Ow! I want my Daddy!  I want my Daddy!”  So much for the Mommy theory.

OK – I just have to post a picture – because I can!  This new trick is so much fun for me!  I need to figure out how to post music and a youtube video next.

It’s DS #3 with his Daddy.  They’re picking blueberries.  We picked blueberries on our vacation because Michigan has lots of blueberries.  Did you know that?  I didn’t.  I do love this picture of Daddy with his littlest guy.  DS #3 tells his Daddy all the time he’s his ‘bestest buddy’.  There’s just something about a daddy with his little person.  It does something to me to see my big strappin’ hubby be so tender with DS#3  or any of the kiddos, really. It makes me . . .  well I want to . . . I get all . . . I’d just better say see you tomorrow now or I may get more personal than either one of us wish me to be.  See ya tomorrow!

Blessings & Hugs,  Elizabeth

Responses

  1. You are still cracking me up!!

  2. Awww! I love the picture! That is a “framer” for sure. Glad A. stayed on the green apple. That’s pretty smart, I think. Maybe we need to implement that in our house. 🙂


Leave a Reply

Categories

