Posted by: simplyelizabeth | September 4, 2008

What’s Better Than a Good Man? A Godly Man.

That’s what my DH is.  He’s a Godly man full of love, patience, peace, joy, kindness, faithfulness, a desire to win souls to Christ, a desire to be the best husband and daddy he can be.  No, you can’t have him.  He’s mine.  God said so about 8 1/2 years ago and I don’t think you want to argue with God.  He’s bigger than you are.  Back to my DH.  Today is his birthday.  I try to tell him often how much he means to me, but sometimes life gets in the way. I will tell him today. 

He has been a great “Bonus Dad” to my daughter and regular dad to our three sons.  He shows them tenderness and love.  He’s not afraid to be openly affectionate and demonstrative in his love for them.  Not even with the teenage daughter.  (Sometimes she’s not so keen on it, but it is fun to tease them at that age.  I didn’t say I was full of kindness, just my hubby.) 🙂 It fills me up when I see him with one or more of the boys on his lap, the little ones arms wrapped tightly around his neck and his big strong arms wrapped around their little body.  I love when one of them has crawled up on their daddy’s lap and falls asleep.  Even DS#1, who’s almost 8 and starting to pull away a little bit, still wants to be close to his daddy-still wants hugs and kisses.  Or how about when he’s working on something in the garage or around the house with a power tool and their eyes are fixed on their daddy and I know their little minds are thinking, “I want to be just like him when I get big!”  They love that he plays with them outside, chase or bicycling and inside, wrestling or playstation.  They love his hugs and kisses and butterflies before they go to sleep.  Once when my daughter was at my mom’s, my mom was saying she needed my DH to come over and fix something.  DD’s reply was, “He’ll fix it.  He can fix anything grandma.”  That may not sound so amazing, but what’s lost in the written word is the way in which she said it.  DD knows DH can fix anything and she finds security in it.  She finds admiration for him in it.  She loves that about him.  She loves that he gives her the hardest time with the silly little things she says or does that may reveal she’s a blond teenager.  She love that he still “wrestles” with her and that she can’t win. 

Those are all things that a good man does, and he’s very good, but he’s also Godly.  He teaches our Sunday School class and seeks God about it every week.  The people in our class weigh on him.  He prays for our class and for the lesson he’s leading each week.  He prays for the high school students he teaches. He prays for our family and with our family.  He prays for his family, brothers, mom, dad, SIL’s, nieces and nephews.  He prays for salvation for those who don’t know Christ.  He speaks of the Lord openly in our house.  He is continually seeking God to lead us in His direction.  I see him growing in the Lord and it makes my heart swell with joy. 

Along with all this gushing of emotions, I think it’s important that I tell you I also find him incredibly attractive.  He’s not what you would call George Clooney or Matthew McConaughey attractive.  He’s just a really great package deal.  His voice is deep and I love listening to him talk to me-especially when it’s just the two of us discussing day after the kids go to bed.  Who doesn’t like a deep, clear voice.  I have a friend in New York who has told me she’d like him to read the phone book too her.  It’s sexy. He’s got forearms and hands that Michelangelo would have used as a template for his sculptures.  Really.  He does.  I have a thing for forearms.  And hands-manly hands.  Strong forearms and manly hands are sexy. He has a confident way in which he conducts himself.  Confidence, even if I’m right and he’s wrong(this does happen), is sexy. I could go on, but I won’t because this is supposed to be a family friendly site and I’m feeling a little flush.  Suffice it to say – I Love My Husband!  Happy Birthday Honey!

Blessings & Hugs, Elizabeth

Responses

  1. What a great blog! I love to hear a wife gush about her husband. We don’t hear it enough these days. You are blessed to have each other. I hope you have a great day celebrating his birthday! Happy birthday, Bill!

  2. If Bill’s love language. is ‘words of affirmation’..babe you just hit the spot! I rejoice over the influence of friends that model a shared appreciation for the man God has given to them. Showing appreciation not only demonstates faithfulness to your husband, it builds more loving faithfulness in your own heart. It is amazing how we tend to believe our own spoken (or in this case written) words.


Leave a Reply

Categories

