Posted by: simplyelizabeth | September 5, 2008

“Fall Is In The Air” Friday

That’s right!  There’s a chill in the air and I’m loving it!  I can’t wait to go home and put on my jeans and a hoody.  Woo Hoody!  We may even go to the football game tonight.  Or maybe not.  HS Football, for me, is only fun if you’re in HS or have a relative  playing.  I know.  I know.  Those are harsh words, but as The Pioneer Woman would say, “I’m just keeping it real.”  Well, I’m not wanting to start a debate, so I’ll tell you why I’m really, really excited.  Are you ready?  Really ready?  Are you absolutely sure?  OK!  I’ll get on with it!  I get to put out ALL of my FALL stuff this weekend!  Yippee!  I just LOVE fall!  Have I told you this already?  Well, in case I haven’t – I just LOVE fall!  Yesterday morning, the morning of my beloveds birthday, I got up and put out a few things in our living room.  I’m too late to share with Melissa on http://theinspiredroom.net , but I can still share with you.  I’ll be sharing more later. 

You’d never know it, but I really do like to decorate.  The only problem is I have to clean first.  Or maybe it’s declutter first.  Anywho, I have to find the tops of things, clear them off, and then put new goodies up.

This is my not so centered picture of the shelf above my love seat.  I adore using natural things that go with the season.  I think seasonal garlands and swags can add so much.  You didn’t know I was a frustrated extremely average interior decorator, did you?  See, you need to stick around because I’m just full of surprises!  I’m not done with the shelf, but this is a good start.  I’ll show you the rest of the story here next week.

This is also a beginning for my walnut cabinet.  I got the cabinet from my mom who got it at garage sale and she stripped it and found it was made of walnut and now we all call it the walnut cabinet.  Good golly I hope my HS English teacher or any of my former English professors ever find this site.  Speaking of garage sales, the leaves are inside a metal pumpkin that, once again, my mom got from a garage sale.  She’s really good that way.  I’ll update you on the walnut cabinet next week as well. 

These are my fall berries in my kinda wood like sorta basket thing with the ball made of I’m not sure what but I like ’em.  Did you notice the scratches on the table?  Those would be Hot Wheels tire tracks.  It’s true.  If you push them hard enough to make them fly off of the coffee table, they leave tracks.  Just an interesting side note that I didn’t think you all could live without.

I am now going to leave myself a challenge to show you rooms, finished rooms next week.  I’m thinking Tuesday should be the day.  I have my Pumpkin Pie Crunch demonstration planned for Monday.  You won’t want to miss it!  I promise!  After I show you and you feel and uncontrollable desire to make it and eat it all, we’ll have an intervention for you.  It’s truly that addicting.  To illustrate my point, Amy at Inside the Parsonage, was first introduced to it last fall.  A week later it was found she was making one every other day and telling her hubby it was the same one by eating away just enough to make it look like it did to him the night before.  You know what I mean?  She stopped eating in the same spot so it looked like she didn’t eat any all day long while he was slaving away at the church.  We had to have an intervention.  OK.  Not really, but that was kinda fun, wasn’t it?  True story.  My pastor, from almost 10years ago at this point, emailed me last fall for the recipe because they couldn’t find theirs.  There was bedlam in their house.  Guttural groans were heard coming from their house all because it was fall and they couldn’t make their Pumpkin Pie Crunch.  This is the power I’m going to unleash on the internet Monday, so use the power very carefully.  That and go to the alter to get right with God because you’re going to need the extra in with “The Big Guy” after you fall into gluttony from eating it. 

Well, after those somewhat disturbing thoughts, I hope you all have a cheery weekend!  Thanks for letting me ramble!  Mrs. Mulvany, if you’re reading this, forgive me for I know not what I do, or did, with my English today.

Blessings & Hugs, Elizabeth

PS – I almost forgot to tell you guys something really important you should know about me.  I LOVE fall!

Responses

  1. ok, a little silly, but I still loved it!!! I can’t wait for the demonstration on Monday! And BTW I do like the pictures!!

  2. You got me in the mood for fall. Last night at Girls Night I ordered pumpkin cheesecake. Ok it’s not pumpkin pie crunch (which is really as good as Elizabeth says it is) but it was a good start to fall. I just need a little summer tomorrow night to wear my sleeveless dress to the wedding.

    ps thanks for the necklace-it’s really pretty!

  3. Oh, E. You had to go there, didn’t you? You had to tell my secret of the PPC and how it always looks “just barely eaten.” How in the world did you know? Maybe you’ve done the same a time or two?
    I love the pictures…your decorations are bee-u-tiful!

  4. Mum’s the Word or Maybe it is Chrysanthemum either way it is that time of year. The night air is cool and crisp and the fall foliage abounds with an array of deep golden yellows, intense warm oranges and brilliant reds. Mums are so are so beautiful and have such an array of color; they are the perfect way to bring cheer inside and curb appeal on the outside of the home. Just luv my mum:)

  5. Thanks for the inspiration to get out the fall stuff. I did mine this morning. It looks great and it’s all because of you!

  6. Dianna – I think it’s awesome that you’re into the season. I’m so glad you’re having fun with this too and I love, love, love that you’re commenting. In the immortal words of Sally Fields, “You like me. You really like me!” Have a great one!


Leave a Reply

Categories

