Posted by: simplyelizabeth | September 8, 2008

It’s Here! What you’ve been waiting for! Pumpkin Pie Crunch

Woo Hoo my friends!  I made it this morning so the pictures would be a fresh as the baked delight I’m going to share.  I haven’t photographed making anything before, so bare with me. 

I guess I wasn’t as with it as I thought – see the crumbs?  Oops!  This is what you need to make this festive fall delight.  I’ll post the recipe at the bottom.  You can use any brand of the ingredients EXCEPT you MUST use Duncan Hines Moist Deluxe Yellow Cake Mix.  No, I’m not getting a commission.  It just makes a difference.

First, you mix the pumpkin, pumpkin pie spice, 3 eggs, evaporated milk and 1 1/2 cups of sugar.  Yeah.  You bet it’s low cal and Weight Watchers endorses it too.  🙂

I know it doesn’t look it yet, but this will be yummy.  Tre’ yummy.  Quintuple yummy.  You will offer to sell your first born for a piece! 

Pour the mixture into a 9 X 13 pan.  Yes, the pan does look precariously placed on the table.  Remember, it was early.  Isn’t it nice of me to endorse Longaberger as well?  I’m just thoughtful that way. 

Now, the order of the next step is important – sprinkle dry cake mix evenly over top, sprinkle 1Cup of pecans on top of that and then you will drizzle 1Cup of melted margarine over the whole thing.  See why Weight Watchers calls this a tummy friendly dessert?  It’s because after you eat it, your tummy will be your friend for life!  Oh!  The margarine thing.  In the first pic with the ingredient, you saw a stick of margarine and a Country Crock tub.  I was down to one stick (I usually use two) so I had to be creative and use what there was – one stick and a 1/2 cup of Country Crock.  It all works fine.

This is the finished product – warm and crisp around the edges.  DS#3 begged to have it for breakfast this morning.  I told him we had to save it for our bloggy friends.  No, I told him we don’t eat dessert for breakfast and that he could have some after dinner.  It was a lie.  I committed a sin first thing in the morning.  It’s very, very good for breakfast with coffee.  I’d like to my children to have more sense than I do about food, though.  Besides, I don’t think it’s appropriate to offer a 4 yr old coffee.  Or is it?  No, I like our babysitter.

So there it is, the coveted Pumpkin Pie Crunch.  I usually serve it with real whipping cream, but I’m trying to watch what I eat so I cut it out this time.  Feel free to use Cool Whip as well.  Cover and refrigerate after it’s cooled.  Below is the recipe. 

Pumpkin Pie Crunch

 

1 Can Pumpkin – not pumpkin pie mix

1 Can Evaporated Milk

3 Eggs

1 ½ Cup Sugar

4 tsp Pumpkin Pie Spice

1 Box Duncan Hines Moist Deluxe Yellow Cake Mix

1 Cup Chopped Pecans

1 Cup Melted Margarine

 

Mix first 5 ingredients together and pour into a 9 X 13 pan.  Then layer the last three ingredients on top of mixture (dry cake mix, then pecans, then drizzle margarine).  Bake at 375° for 45 to 50 minutes until golden brown on top.  After cooled, serve w/ whipped topping.

 

Hugs & Blessings, Elizabeth

 

Tomorrow I will show you more fall decorations. I know you’re all as excited as I am.  I Love Fall!  Wednesday there will be a devotional.  I can’t wait!  On Wednesday, we can “fall” in love with Jesus.  Yes, I know I’m clever.  Fall is so inspiring to me, so I’m going to step out of my comfort zone to try a few new things this week.  Check back!

Responses

  1. Bless you, my friend. Just seeing those pictures made me happy.

  2. I’m coming to your house for dessert!!!

  3. This stuff is pure evil I tell you. The tasty morsel continues to beacon me when I am around it. I can hear it now “I’m delicious just try a nibble it wont hurt” oh but it does hurt.

    Gotta have the crunch, my mouth and taste buds love it but my midsection says OH NOOOOOOOOOOOOOO.

    Love the dessert thanks for sharing it.


Leave a Reply

Categories

