Posted by: simplyelizabeth | September 10, 2008

Have you let the old you “Fall” away?

2 Corinthians 5:17 (NIV)

17 Therefore, if anyone is in Christ, he is a new creation; the old has gone, the new has come!

Oh come, come now.  You didn’t really think you would get away today without some reference to Fall?  Yesterday morning I was doing my study with Charles Stanley (no, not really w/Charles Stanley – in my Sunday School lesson book- don’t I wish it was really with him!)  I feel as if I’m in battle everyday to overcome the old me.  Newsflash folks – We’re new creations in Christ and can give up the fight.  The war has been won so don’t participate in the battles.  Refer to the Holy Commander in Chief and he’ll tell you there’s no need to sweat it.  He’ll take care of the situation. 

We often choose to hang on to the old self.  Maybe we’ve been without it for awhile and even want to reserect it.  Why?  You know that self better than any other.  There is comfort in knowing what to expect and it’s much easier to excuse yourself of bad behavior because, “That’s just who I am.”   Are you aware that people who live in unhealthy relationships often choose to stay because they know what to expect.  How sad to decide you are safer to stay in a dangerous situation than move to a safe one because of familiarity.   It doesn’t make much sense, does it?  Believers often choose the same route with self.  This is not plan from our Heavenly Father.  Psalm 20:4 says, “May he give you the desire of heart and make all your plans succeed.”  Jeremiah 29:11 states, “For I know the plans I have for you, declares the Lord. Plans to prosper you and not to harm you.  Plans to give you hope and a future.”  Wowee!  So with those words of encouragement, why would I want to continue to indulge myself in ways that are less than worthy of my Heavenly Father and Savior.  My sweet friends, I encourage you to look to these verses and loose yourself from whatever keeps you in bondage.  I’ll list a few of mine to help you out.  I am often gluttonous (Uh Hum, the Pumpkin Pie Crunch-one serving, not half the pan, should do me), slothful (it’s easier to watch other people’s lives on TV than bring peace and organization to my house) and disobedient (I’ll get my budget in order next month so I can give you all you’re supposed to get).  Yes ma’am.  I’m a sinner and seem to be pretty proficient at it. 

So now I’m going to bring us back to Fall.  You knew we’d get there, didn’t you.  I’d like to draw similarities between Fall and allowing the old you to die.  I hear a lot of people who feel that fall is just a precursor to winter.  It just reminds them that snow is coming.  For me, Fall is a season to reflect on the year that seems to have gone by so quickly, family gatherings to celebrate our love for each other, wonderful smells coming from my oven and warm, cozy evenings curled up with a good book or movie.  Fall is when the spring and summer growth of most flora and fauna (I love that phrase, flora and fauna = fun words) die to themselves to prepare for the beauty that will spring forth after it rests for the winter.  The old has to die away to make room for new.   Isn’t it nice how we can wrap this up at the end all tidy like?  So go forth my friends and celebrate the season by preparing for new growth in you.

Blessings & Hugs, Elizabeth

Responses

  1. That was really good!!! You should write a book. 🙂

  2. Beautiful words! Thanks for sharing them with us!

  3. There has never been the slightest doubt in my mind that the God who started this great work in you would keep at it and bring it to a flourishing finish on the very day Christ Jesus appears. (Philippians 1:6)MSG


Leave a Reply

Categories

