Posted by: simplyelizabeth | September 16, 2008

Tiny Bubbles – and burps

OK.  You caught us.  We’re Southern Baptist yet there is drinking going on in our house.  It happens most nights as a matter of fact.  It happened again last night.  You can ask my DF Amber.  She was a witness to it.  I was talking with her on the phone and she heard the whole thing.  I was so overwhelmed that it never crossed my mind to keep it under wraps until our phone conversation was over.  She now knows our family secret.  I will share it with you as well – a confession of sorts.  I will repent and be cleansed!  Actually, the heinous act happens simultaneously with cleansing.  DS#2 called for me from the bathroom, “Mom!  DS#3 is drinking the water in the tub again!”  And there it is.  Our youngest is a drinker.  He imbibes bath water-soapy bath water.  We have frequent conversations about this subject, but it’s to no avail.  It’s a cycle.  I haven’t yet come across a 12 step program for bath water drunkards.  My four year old is a bath water drunkard.  If only my admission of guilt was the first step.  I don’t know why he is drawn to bubbly bath water.  I can’t imagine it tastes good.  Can you? I think the pull may be that after he has ingested a certain amount, he burps more.  In our house, a belch is call a “burp from my mouth”.  I like this terminology better than, “I belched!”  It may sound silly, but it’s something I seem to be able to control.  I’m not really this proper, but I can only handle so much talk of bodily functions.  It’s really all about me, you know.  Isn’t it that way at your house?  So to continue the story, I had to discuss with DS#3 that this is a bad, bad idea.  I know when he has had too much to drink, the burbs get to be a bit much.  He and his brothers enjoy it, but me, not so much.  One night he was giggling about it so much, I was afraid he was going to float up to the ceiling, like in Willy Wonka-the good one with Gene Wilder-where Charlie and his grandpa take some of the bubbly stuff.  They have to belch burp their way down.  Or maybe the children with the uncles in Mary Poppins that floated up because of giggling.  I don’t think they burped though.  Remember?

Do any of your kids drink bath water?  Can it cause brain damage?  Keep our family in prayer dear ones, for these are the things of real concern within our house. 

Blessings & Hugs, Elizabeth

Responses

  1. Sometimes Abigail likes to suck the water off of her wet washcloth. Kind of gross if you ask me. Oh, and as much as I ADORE Willy Wonka and the Chocolate Factory, I have always HATED the burping scene. It is just in there for boys because it is gross, just gross.

  2. […] #2 and the way he makes those around him happy with his words and contagious spirit.  6. DS #3 for drinking bubbly bath water and burping – I’m against it, but it does make me laugh.   7. My mom and extended family […]


Leave a Reply

Categories

