Posted by: simplyelizabeth | September 24, 2008

20 Little Things to Treasure in Autumn – A Plagerized Title — And Let’s Give Some Credit Where Credit Is Do

Melissa at The Inspired Room inspires me.  Thus the title.  That must be what she’s trying to do.  It works for me.  She has this peaceful spirit about her that you can feel through reading her words.  (I bet you all get that from reading this blog too.  I mean, how could you not?) She also has some really great pictures to give ideas for decorating that you know you can do without breaking the bank.  She says, “When life inspires our home, our home will inspire our life.”  Wow.  Ooooooo.  Ahhhhh.  Can’t you feel the peace surround you? My home is not there yet, but it is a work in progress.  Who am I kidding.  We’re not even in the same neighborhood.  OK!  OK!  I’ll fess up – you know we don’t even reside in the same country let alone town or state – but she makes me want to – therefore I’m inspired.  So on her blog a couple of days ago she had posted 20 Little Things.  I thought what a good thing for my Wednesday which I am now reserving for my Heavenly Father on my little part of the world wide web. (Do they even call it that any more?)  All our little and big blessings come from above.  Much as a parent likes to give their child goodies and see them delight in the goodies, so our Lord does for us. (This is where the give credit part of my ridiculously long title come into play.)

 Below is my list and I hope you want to share your little things too!

1. The Word Autumnal – it makes me feel like I’m in a book that takes place in the English Countryside during the late 1800’s (Yes, I know that sounds strange, but normal is waaaay overrated.)

2. The smell of Pumpkin Pie Crunch Baking

3. The eating of Pumpkin Pie Crunch

4. The smell of cinnamon, baked apple and pumpkin spice candles

5. Chilly night air with the warmth of a camp fire

6. Chilly night air and the warmth of being under cozy blankets w/DH (Stop those thoughts!  This is a family friendly site and you will no longer be allowed to visit if that’s what you’re going to think.)

7. Apple Cider

8. The smells of an apple orchard shop (Is it just me, or does a lot of this have to to with food?)

9. Carving pumpkins and baking pumpkin seeds with the family

10. Hot Tea – Orange spice to be exact

11.  The leaves changing color

12. Walking through fallen leaves in the woods

13. Getting cozy with the little darlins’ on the couch to watch a movie

14. My hubby’s special popcorn

15. Chili and a peanut butter sandwich

16. Crock pot roast (Why, food must be a theme in my life – ya think?)

17. Turtleneck sweaters, sweatshirts & jeans

18. Fall festivals

19. A morning campfire with coffee

20. Family, family and some more of family 🙂

I just love being happy about happy things!  I believe we’ve gone down this road before, but can you ever really be too thankful?  I think not.  If this is not your mood today, try not to get nauseated – just think about it and know tomorrow is a new day and you can join in then.  Oh shoot!  That thought wasn’t good for you that aren’t feeling that way either, was it? 

OK – if you don’t want to join in, that’s fine. We’ll just all know that you’re a real party pooper.  Hrmph!

Blessings & Hugs (even if you don’t want them) Elizabeth

Responses

  1. You know you just totally crack me up! But I agree with you, isn’t fall all about the food? Well mostly anyway! I can’t wait for the tree in my front yard to change colors, it is the prettiest orange color every Autumn!!

  2. Thanks for making me remember all the things that I have to be thankful for!

    There, I finally made a comment! : )

  3. Great Autumn list! Enjoy the blessings of Fall!

  4. Loved your list! I think it is funny that you mentioned chili and peanut butter sandwiches, because they totally go great together, but I think it is a regional thing around her to serve them together. Just like when we lived in Louisville, everyone put spaghetti in their chili.
    Oh, I love all of those things, too. Well, not cuddling with YOUR DH, but I do love cuddling with mine! 🙂

  5. “Enter his gates with thanksgiving,
    and his courts with praise!
    Give thanks to him; bless his name”
    ~ Psalm 100:4 (NIV)
    I’m Thankful Thursday
    for change…
    in the seasons–
    Lord, I am thankful for the autumn season especially, yet not only the yearly seasons, but the seasons of life.
    This passage of Ecclesiastes…we see that God provides cycles of life for us to grow, and thus discover, accept, and appreciate God’s perfect timing.
    “For everything there is a season, and a time for every matter under heaven: … a time to be born, and a time to die; a time to plant, and a time to pluck up what is planted…”
    ~ Ecclesiastes 3:1-2
    Lord, thank You for being there for me in all the seasons of my life. No matter how far away I was at one point, You made sure that I don’t fall off the edge completely. You always has me in sight…
    Lord, thank You for allowing me to grow in my marriage. Although not always the perfect wife, You helped me to become better at it…
    Lord, thank You for allowing me to be a mom. Motherhood has helped me to become more patient. Thank You for helping me through the hard years of teenage hood…
    Lord, thank You for the childhood I had. I am for ever grateful for my parents. Their love for you has left an imprint on my heart…
    Lord, thank You for all the friendships you have brought into my life. The past and current ones. All the friendships have helped me to grow into the woman I am today…
    Lord, thank You for all the wonderful Biblical teachers in my life. With the power of Your Spirit, they have helped me learn more about You…
    And Lord, thank You for what You are going to do for the next season in my life. Lord, may I have an open heart and spirit to follow you, no matter what…
    Credit to:
    http://www.eph2810.com

  6. I’m thankful for email and phones that allow friendship to continue despite the miles.

    I’m thankful it’s almost Friday!

    I’m thankful I’m employed.

    I’m thankful for my husband.

    And of course for my darling 12 year old puppy!

  7. Aw, I love your list, it is so inspiring! (sorry it has taken me so long to get around to you, I’m still trying to keep up with the Fall Nesting & the 20 Little Things links…but loving each and every one!)…

    And you are too sweet to say such nice things. Made my day!

    Have a wonderful week! Thanks for being a part of the fun!

    Blessings,
    Melissa


Leave a Reply

Categories

