Posted by: simplyelizabeth | October 3, 2008

It’s Here! We’re Going To The Pumpkin Patch!

I just really can’t contain myself.  Tomorrow we’re going to The Great Pumpkin Patch.  That’s its name.  Honestly.  I love this place and my family and I are going for the day.  My mom is going with us and we’ll be meeting some of my extended family for lunch in town.  The day is going to be great! 

I will be assured a wonderful day as soon as the demons are cast out of our house this evening.  I found a local farmer willing to donate to the cause.  Dianna can keep her pet hedge hog, but I totally appreciate her gesture.  Wow!  What friends are willing to do for each other is amazing, isn’t it?  I do love that girl!  She has a heart for Jesus and is willing to put her money where her mouth is by demonstrating sacrificial giving.  Besides, I really think the demons might be too big for the poor little hedge hog.

Oops!  I digress, again.  Ramblin’, Ramblin’, Ramblin’, Oh how I can ramble, see me just keep going, Ramble (sing that to the tune of Rawhide and it works beautifully)

Before I get back to the Pumpkin Patch, let me share with you how I completely mortified my DD earlier this week.  The singing up above made me think of it.  If you’ll remember from yesterday, we had an evangelist at church this week.  People were needed to watch little people in the nursery and 2-5yr. olds.  Tuesday night DD and I watch the 2-5yr. olds.  I always feel free to be me around little people because I know they don’t judge.  There’s no need for me to “act” any part.  If I feel like singing, wiggling and being goofy in general, I can.  I think they appreciate it.  I’m trying to connect with them on their level. 

So all the parents came to pick up their little darlins’ and when the last one came I said goodbye.  Well, I actually said so long.  My brain immediately kicked into the song from the Sound of Music where the kids are saying good night to the party Baron Von Trapp is having.  Do you know it?  If you’ve never seen the Sound of Music, for shame!  It’s a classic musical that your children should learn right after they learn to “hide” Bible verses in their heart.  I’m serious here.  The song goes, So Long, Farewell, Alviderzane(I have no idea how to spell that-just sound it out), Adieu – Adieu to you, to you and you and you – and it continues.  I felt compelled to go with my emotion and skip joyfully down the hall singing said song.  As far as I knew, we were the last ones out of the building. DD just looked at me as teenagers look at their parents.  They think we’re all deranged. As I rounded a corner there were two freshman boys standing and they shot me the same look.  I apologized and told them I don’t normally break into musical theater when others are around.  DD ran ahead of me, out the back door and into the van.  I knew she wished a hole in the ground would open up and swallow her.  Poor kid.  She didn’t ask to be born to a frustrated musical theater wanna be.  God does have a sense of humor, doesn’t he?  I think a little embarrassment once in awhile grounds ’em.  It’ll make her stronger.  Who knows, she may now be inspired to go into the mental health field. 

Wow!  That was some bunny trail I took.  Could I be ADD?  I really just wanted to say I’m excited about the Pumpkin Patch tomorrow and the really good food we’re going to have for lunch and for seeing family we don’t always get to see.  These are all good things.  I’m also really glad it’s Friday.  We should be so happy about every day.  They’re all gifts my friends – even if it doesn’t always seem so. 

Oh oh.  I feel a song coming on . . . . . Praise Him, Praise Him, Jesus our Blessed Redeemer, hmm hmm hmm hmm hmm hmm hmm . . . . . Everybody now!

Blessings & Hugs, Elizabeth

Responses

  1. So I guess you didn’t stop singing and dancing after I caught you during the sermon, when I came down for a bathroom break?!? I think all kids should be embarrassed in public by their parents at least once a week. It’s good for them. Gives them good stories to share later in life, and is repayment for all the embarrassment they heaped upon us during those toddler years! 🙂

  2. Here is what my mom used to do: At Christmastime, she would drop me off at the high school before I could drive, or pick me up there, and I would open the door to her car, and you know what would be BLARING from the speakers??? The Alvin and The Chipmunks Christmas album.

    Which now that I am older and wiser, I totally recognize as a valid and classic holiday album.

    But oh my, did it ever embarrass me then. And I turned out okay (except for the inner rage I feel when I hear “Me, I Want a Hula Hoop). Just kidding. I love Alvin and I love my mom to this day. So, she’ll live. 🙂

  3. Have fun at the pumpkin patch!


Leave a Reply

Categories

