Posted by: simplyelizabeth | October 6, 2008

Good Times

Now I know I may be stretching for some here, but I remember watching this sitcom when I was young – very, very young. 

I thought of it this morning because I wanted to share with you that I had a really good weekend.  It was full of good times.  There was laughter, joy, quality family time and good food and a general appreciation for what’s around me.  Oh! And the kids had a really good time too. 

I also was thinking a little more globally when I thought of the show name in relation to my weekend.  It’s my cross to bear in life that I can think of a song to go with just about anything. (OK, so it’s really those who are around me who have the cross to bear. I think it’s a lot of fun to do!) Today it’s the Good Times theme.  Don’t leave me yet – there’s a point to all this.  It’s amazing to me that while there is constant change in our lives, some things seem to remain the same.  One verse talks of “keeping your head above water”  another says “temporary lay-offs” and yet another is “easy credit rip-offs”.  Sound familiar to todays life situations? 

This is a sitcom that ran from 1974-1979 and all the issues they covered in the opening song are totally pertinent to today. (I felt the need to throw in the word totally so you’d remember I’m a child of the 80’s.  Really, I am!) I guess history does repeat itself.  Amazing.  Just a thought to ponder, or not if you so choose.  I may choose to explore this more tomorrow. 

Now, my good times were at The Great Pumpkin Patch and the restaurant we went to afterwards.  It was my mom’s birthday and we spent a really good day together. 

 

 

   And please notice that DD is smiling under protest.  It’s what you do when you’re 13, almost 14 and your mom embarrasses you – frequently. 🙂  It’s not always intentional. Honestly

                       

Some nifty displays they had and an “Oops,you’ve already seen this pic.” picture.  Can you find the matching picture?  I used to love the game Memory.  Did you ever play that?  I hate to brag, but I was the reigning champ in my house.  (Shhhh.  Don’t tell everyone I was an only child!)

This is DS#1 telling me to take his picture because he’s making the word WOW.  See, the three fingers make the W and his mouth is the O.  Clever, isn’t he?  Well, he had to explain it to me anyway. 

I had to do something – we didn’t have swine with us.

This guy didn’t look very fuzy, so maybe we’re in for a mild winter.  What?  You didn’t know I’m a regular contributor to the Farmer’s Almanac? 

And here I was hoping for a Christmas Card Picture.  Note the crossed arms of DD, the looking the wrong way by DS#2 and DS#1 seems to be fascinated with his tongue and DS#4 is the only normal, acceptable one in the picture.  Yes my friends, God still moves.

Seriously though – it’s days like this when you know you owe your all to the Heavenly Father.  No one else could be responsible for having an entire day out without one argument or “He touched me!” or “She looked at me!” or “Mom, I have to go to the bathroom, now.”  when you’re 10 miles from the nearest town.  Not one of those things happened.  What did happen was a deeper appreciation for God who has given me my earthly family. 

Oh oh!  I feel another song – To God be the glory, great things he hath done . . . . . . .

Blessings & Hugs, Elizabeth

Responses

  1. Cute pictures. I love Katie’s crossed arms in all of them…a la “I will smile, but my crossed arms show that I am not completely impressed with this family of mine.”
    Looks like you had a fun time! I say use the one for a Christmas card picture anyway…it catches all of the personalities of your kids!

  2. oh i so love that you always have a song in your heart

    and some of those that cross your mind totally crack me up

  3. I have never seen anything like those hay sculptures- so cool!

    You will love the Tabbouleh salad.. its very tasty and refreshing. I like to let it sit covered in the frig for about an hour before eating. We ate it a lot on our visit to Palestine/Israel last year so I had to find a recipe for it when I got home

  4. Great pictures! Sounds like lots of fun!


Leave a Reply

Categories

