Posted by: simplyelizabeth | October 10, 2008

Flashback Friday!

I can tell this is going to be totally rockin’ dude!  I love strolling down memory lane.  Do you ever look back on your growing up years and recall some things so vividly they could have happened yesterday?  I do.  I remember all kinds of goofy stuff and I’ll be sharing these things with your on Flashback Friday! (said in a deep, magnified voice) 

I know!  You’re so excited you can barely contain yourself!  Me Too!

On today’s edition of Flashback Friday! (said in a deep, magnified voice) I’m going to take you back to Saturday morning cartoons.  Do you remember when cartoons were only on Saturday mornings and near holidays?  Do you remember a time before cable when every child in America rose up on Saturday morning to get their weekly fix of cartoons? 

I do. 

What sticks in my head as much as the cartoons is what they had between cartoons.  Come on now, I know you know too.  Say is with me altogether now . . . . . . School House Rock! (The crowd roars and cheers!)

Oh yeah baby.  Now I know you’re pumped! 

I’m going to share one of my favorites and I’m sure it’s one of yours too.

 I proudly present Conjunction Junction.

Can I just say that this is one of the things that is wrong with our youth today.  They don’t have to wait for anything.  We live in a drive-thru, get it now world.  I’m sure we’re all much more productive members of society because we weren’t able to watch cartoons 24/7 or have 156 channels to surf.  You had to do your chores throughout the week to have the treat of cartoons on Saturday.  What is becoming of our youth these days?

Let me also comment on texting and grammar.  If our children had School House Rock on Saturday mornings the way we did, well, they wouldn’t have to resort to shortening every word for convenience and they would know about conjunctions, adverbs (Lolly Lolly Lolly, get your adverbs here.), Interjections! (that was the name of it) and that a Noun is a Person Place or Thing.  (If you need help with any of these, thanks to the miracle of YouTube, you too can go revisit the rest of the School House Rock videos.) 

You know what else I remember? (Go ahead.  Beg me to tell you.)

Menudo on ABC.  Yep.  I do. 

I met Menudo once.  I really did. I thought they were soooo dreamy.  I believe I call Charlie and Ricky hunks.  I don’t think they were old enough to be hunks, but I wasn’t old enough to know better.  They really were kinda cute.

I am saddened to say that YouTube does not possess Menudo videos.  I will search high and low for you to find one and post it as soon as I do. 

What was a favorite School House Rock of yours?

Did you have a favorite Saturday morning cartoon?

I’ll be waiting to hear from you.

Blessings & Hugs, Elizabeth

Responses

  1. ok.. I totally remember Conjunction Junction (what’s your function?) *grin* haven’t thought of that in years!

    And do not write me in for President- who would want THAT job??? Not me. I am barely a good leader at cleaning my house, let alone running the free world 🙂

  2. congrats on your weight loss!!!

  3. […] 2008 by simplyelizabeth A couple of weeks ago I shared fond memories of Saturday mornings and School House Rock.  I am totally a child of the 80’s but before I was in the eighties, I was in the […]


Leave a Reply

Categories

