Posted by: simplyelizabeth | October 23, 2008

I’m an addict.

The following is dedicated to my friend Terri.  (Hi Terri! 🙂 )

There.  I said it out loud.  Here is yet another confession I feel compelled to share with you.  When I share with you, I feel so much better. 

Really.

When you share with me, it makes me feel good too.  🙂

So, I’ve had this addiction for quite some time.  I guess I’ve had it my whole life.  It has pulled me down to the lowest points in my life yet it’s also helped me celebrate the highest points.  (Are you saying “Enough already!”) 

It’s . . . . . . . . . . . FOOD!!!!!  (fill in with shrieks, screams of terror and the score from Psycho)

Yes, I know we all have our demons to deal with, but food is by far my biggest tangible demon.  I’m not the only one.  Since the end of August I’ve been meeting with a support group to kick the habit.  I met with them today.  The thing with food is that you have to have it to survive.  It’s everywhere, calling your name.  It calls some people in the middle of the night, some people in the afternoon, some people it calls all day long.  I’m that last people category.  I always knew I was addicted to it, but today, in my meeting, I realized I’m not the only one.   We’re all like a bunch of junkies hooked on meth.   

Nope, I’m not kidding one bit. As DS#3 says, “This is serious!  Really serious!”

At the beginning of the meetings, we talk about things we’ve done well where food is concerned.  We talk about changes that we made that we wouldn’t have made before coming.  Today a woman was talking about the apple cake she made.  She said she ate a piece every day and that she shouldn’t have.  We all commended her on only eating one piece and not the whole thing.  Awe, c’mon now.  No reason to be appalled because I know you’ve done it too.  We were all like, “Good job!  Way to go!  and Bravo!”  because she used restraint in having only one piece a day.  Then we started talking about chocolate and the pull it has on us and oh my.  We were all groaning and mmmmm-ing and Ooooh-ing.  It was scary and it truly did sound like an AA meeting or some other substance abuse meeting that you see in the movies.  We all supported each other and said, “Yes my sister.  I too have been there and you can come out on the other side, strong and healthy.” 

We didn’t say that, but it would’ve been really good if someone did.  Maybe I will next week.  I’ll take a stand for my sisters in their time of need.  Heck, by next week I may be the one in need.  It’s a touch and go situation every day. 

Do I eat the chocolate?  Do I just eat a little chocolate?  If I eat the chocolate, I’ll just skip dinner.  No, that’s not a good choice.  Darn the choices!

I guess the good thing about food addiction is that you don’t have to give food up completely.   You just can’t eat the bad for you stuff all the time.  That means you can eat the bad stuff some of the time.

Hmmmm.  I’m going to eat the chocolate.

Blessings & Hugs, Elizabeth

PS – I ate at McDonald’s and Long John Silver’s last week and still lost 1.4lbs.  🙂  I think I can say “God is good” right here. 🙂

Responses

  1. I’m the middle of the night person. No chocolate is safe in my house at 3am. Mitch is a middle of the night snacker to, so we just feed our addiction happily together! 🙂

  2. Thanks for the dedication. You can have your chocolate as long as I can have my ice cream! (Oh, don’t worry about the McDonald’s or Long John Silvers think, I had Olive Garden for lunch today. If no one from the meeting sees us there, it doesn’t count…..does it?)


Leave a Reply

Categories

