Posted by: simplyelizabeth | December 16, 2008

Where do I start?

Yes, I know I’ve been remiss in keeping up with my blogging.  Time just seems to slip away from me right now.  I’m not even reading my regular blogs.  I’m hoping this is just a phase. 

Shall I share yet another boy story?  The little darlins’ gave me some material this morning.  I don’t know what possesses them some days, but I’m quite sure something does.

While I was finishing getting ready for work, in my bathroom at the back of the house, I started hearing loud laughter from DS#1 and high pitched noises from one of the others.  I took off to the living room with a determined step. 

What did I find?  Hmmmmm.  Let’s see. . . . . . . . . . DS#1 holding the front door shut so DS#2 could not get in and DS#3 running around the front yard for kicks and giggles.  I did not giggle.  #2  & #3 know better than to go out without asking and they know you NEVER go out the front without a big person.  I think it was all of 15 degrees this morning.  They did have the forethought to put their coats on, but, well I really wanted to smack their butts. 

Shhhh. 

Don’t tell. 

I didn’t say I did!  Geesh!

They all got a stern talking to and had to sit in separate seats.

Speaking of butts (I’ll try and keep it “G” rated) I had to have a little talk with DS#2 about not touching other people’s.  Yes, you read it correctly. 

Let me back up a bit.  In our house, we’re physical with our affection.  We swat little behinds and big behinds out of fun.  It may not be fun at your house, but it is at ours. (Put the phone down – Child & Family Services already knows.)  We call them love taps.  We do them out of silliness when we’re passing each other or we grab someone to give a big hug and a “love tap.”  This is all well and good at home, but not so much with other people. I, evidently, have not relayed to the boys that this could be misconstrued as sexual harassment. 

Now, let’s return to the incident.  I went to pick up DS#2 from his Sunday School class and one of the women who was helping told me she wanted to let me know something.  She said that DS#2 and one of the girls in his class really get along – they were almost flirty.  I knew this because DS#2 had said something about his friend earlier in the week.  They’re in the same kindergarten class too.  In the midst of their fun, DS#2 gave her fanny a pat.  Oops.  I apologized to the mama that my son was checking out her daughter’s bum.  I gotta say though, my son has good taste.  The little girl is absolutely adorable. (Mom was OK with it.  There will not be any law suits in the future.)  It was a good opportunity to talk to the boys about it being inappropriate to touch another person’s behind if they don’t live with us. 

I feel as if I’ve diverted catastrophe in the future of the boys’ lives. 

Other than that, I’ve let life get away with me.  I think it just happens this time of year. 

Blessings & Hugs, Elizabeth

Responses

  1. Oh, who of us hasn’t had a good little love tap in our childhood days? By parents or boys in the class. Or was that just me? 🙂

  2. Funny! It’s like trying to explain to your little girl why daddy’s and boys don’t have to wear shirts and mommy’s and girls do!

  3. Your family stories are very entertaining-keep ’em comin’!

  4. Glad you’re back – missed you!


Leave a Reply

Categories

