Posted by: simplyelizabeth | December 29, 2008

I’ve Decided I Don’t Pray Enough For My Kids

 . . . . . . .but it’s part of my New Year’s Resolution.  I hope you will pray for them too – they need it. 

So I go to pick up DS#2 from his Sunday School room yesterday and the teacher stops me at the door.  She says, “I want to let you know that DS#2 got two kisses from girls today.  I read your blog the other day.”  OK.  So I can’t complain that it’s girls – I mean I do want girls to be his choice . . . . someday down the road. 

Evidently they were playing the quiet game and DS#2 was sitting between two girls.  The two girls puckered up and kissed him on each cheek.  When I asked DS#2 about it, he said, “Yuk!” but I didn’t see where he minded it nearly as much as he said he did.  There was a big smile on his face when he said it.  What can I say?  He’s going to be a girl magnet.  There are worse things to be when you’re a boy.  Just look at Rod Blagojevich.  He’s definitely worse off – and his hair is just  . . . . . what is his hair?  Poor guy. 

Then there was a conversation with DS#1.  He was talking to me and I became overwhelmed with “Mommy love” for him.  I was looking at him and just couldn’t get over how wonderful I think he is; how blessed I am to have him and how beautiful and expressive his eyes were at that moment.  I felt the need to tell him.  “DS#1, I think you have the most beautiful, big, blue eyes and I love you so much.  (along the girl line of thought) Someday some girl is going to tell you she thinks you’ve got beautiful big blue eyes too.”  DS#1, “EWWWWWW!  (he covers his eyes with his hand) That’s like dead birds falling out of the sky! YUK! Girls are yuk!”  I had no idea I’d get this adverse reaction.  I thought I was building him up and it turns out I gave him much anxiety.  I think that means I’m a pretty normal parent.

So please dear friends, add my kids to your New Year’s resolution list for which to pray – fervently.  For that matter, add me and DH too. 

Thank you in advance for your cooperation in this matter.

Blessings & Hugs, Elizabeth

BTW – What are you going to resolve this year?

Leave a Reply

Categories

