Posted by: simplyelizabeth | January 16, 2009

Flashback Friday!

Welcome to Flashback Friday! (Imagine it said in a “Let’s get ready to rumble!” tone)

So now the “holiday” season is over and we’re back to normalcy in our lives- whatever that is.  Do you know?  If you do, tell me so I might recognize it if I see it someday. 🙂

I feel I would be remiss (I like that phrase) if I did not speak of Dirty Dancing today.  Baba Wawa (remember Gilda Radner on Saturday Night Live? If you don’t, I’m sorry for you and you should check her out – neat & funny lady) 

I digressed before I even got the sentence out – It’s ADHD rearing it’s ugly head.  I forgot to take the medicine that’s supposed to help me remember this morning. 

Let me try again.

Recently Barbara Walters interviewed Patrick Swayze concerning his cancer and life in general.  Even though his face is older and a bit worn, I simply cannot look at him without thinking of Dirty Dancing.  I like thinking of all the dance scenes, the great songs and the dreaming my friends and I did over Patrick. Ooooo, Ahhhhh, Ohhhh. 

She’s Like the Wind, Hungry Eyes, Oh Won’t You Stay Just a Little Bit Longer and dance with me Patrick? 

What? 

That last one wasn’t a song? 

Oh yeah.  That’s what I used to sing when I was in the shower or alone in my room.

 So how many times did you and your friends see the movie?  Can you still sing the songs on command? I can and will if you want me to.  Just give me jingle and I’ll be your entertainment for the night. 

Maybe we should all get together for a girls night out and watch it.  Tell me date and I’ll be there!

Now I’ve had the time of my life . . . . . . . .

Here’s a clip for you to smile and say “ahhhh” and possibly even drool over. 

Hey, I don’t know where Patrick might or might not be in his walk with the Lord, but I’m sure he and his family could use our prayers. 

Blessings & Hugs, Elizabeth

PS – I also think of Patrick and the scene from Ghost where Demi’s working on the potters wheel.  Wow!  Is it warm in here? After all this, I sure hope my husband is available for a date tonight!

Responses

  1. Glad Flashback Friday is back – I agree with it all!

  2. Okay, yeah, you might have just hit on THE BEST MOVIE OF ALL TIME (according to me). I’ve seen it – LITERALLY – hundreds of times. My junior year summer break, I watched the movie every single day. I even saw the version they released in theaters a few years ago. My love for this movie proven? I got into an accident on the highway, in the rain, by myself and sat in the back of an ambulance for 15 minutes. I told them I had to go because of seeing this movie. The movie was 5 minutes in when I got there. I hit a van that was stalled in the center lane, full of teenagers. My front end was all but hanging off. And I STILL WENT.
    The best line:
    Baby: Me?! I’m afraid of everything. I’m afraid of what I saw, of what I did, of who I am. And, most of all, I’m afraid of walking out of this room and never feeling the rest of my whole life, the way I feel when I’m with you.
    Do-do-do-dah, do-do-do-dah…..dance with me.
    🙂 I might be a fan.


Leave a Reply

Categories

