Posted by: simplyelizabeth | January 27, 2009

Catching Up

What a weekend!  It was like a novel with mystery, intrigue, broken hearts and romance. 

The mystery and intrigue were all on Friday evening.  Friday night is pizza and Pepsi night at our house.  I totally have the kids brainwashed into thinking it’s a treat for them.  Little do they know that on Friday I refuse to cook.  I’ve worked all week and I’ve had it.  I’m done.

So, DD had volleyball practice from 5-7 on Friday night.  I get off at 4:30 and there was no way she could inhale dinner before practice.  I told her I’d save some.

The boys seemed ravenous Friday night.  They wanted more than what I gave them, but I said no.  What was left was for their sister’s dinner – so leave it alone.  I had to beat the savages off, but I overcame in the end.

7pm rolled around and I went to get DD.  When I picked her up she said she was starving.  I told her what I set aside for her and she was happy with her mama.  We got home and I told her it was on the stove.  She walked into the kitchen and said, “Where is it? I don’t see it.”  At this point I figured she was looking right over it or through it because she’s not real good at finding things.  Are your kids?  Anyway, I didn’t know how she could possibly be missing food.  I went in the kitchen and the top of the stove was empty.  I was astounded.  It was like a Nancy Drew mystery – The Case of the Missing Pizza.  (can you feel the intrigue?) I thought maybe DH was playing a trick, being “funny”.  He said he really didn’t know anything about it.  Then it dawned on me – there were savages in my house that knew no boundaries. 

I yelled, “DS#2, DS#3, get in here!”  They came sheepishly.  “Did you eat the pizza that was up here?”  DS#3 gave it up in a hurry, “DS#2 made me eat it!  He did it!”  DS#2, “No I didn’t!  DS#3 told me to!”  Once I got all the facts, just the facts, I discovered that it was the Butler with the Candlestick – Not really silly – it was DS#2.  He said he was hungry.  Well, guess what, so was his poor sister who had worked her buns off for two hours.  DS#2 got, well I’m not at liberty to tell you what he got.  Let’s just say he got his just desserts.  (Do you like the food reference?  Clever, huh.)

I put in a new pizza for DD and all was well.  She texted several friends about how horrible conditions are in her house and that will suffice for any therapy she may have needed from her dinner being eaten. 

DD seemed to have a rather difficult weekend because the heartbreak belongs to her as well.  Most weekends she stays in her room reading.  She wouldn’t want to be around us too much because she might decide we’re fun  and that goes against the “Teenager’s Code of Conduct”.  I pop in on her periodically to chat, make her pick up her room, unload the dishwasher or generally annoy her, which by the way is found in the “Mother of a Teenager Code of Conduct”.  (If you don’t have a copy, let me know and I’ll get one to you.)  So on one of my evening pop ins I discovered she was crying.  I said, “Honey, what is wrong?”  DD, “I’m reading The Outsiders for class and Dallas just died.”  Me, “Oh, I remember that.  It’s a good book, but sad.”  DD, “Does it get better at the end?”  I really couldn’t lie – “No, not really.  You want me to get you a box of tissues?”  DD, “It doesn’t – I shook my head no – Maybe you’d better.”  So I did and left her to finish the book.

About an hour and a half later she came forth from her room red faced and puffy eyed.  DD, “That was awful!  Pony Boy and, and, they died!  How horrible!  He didn’t mean to and then he saved those kids from the fire and got burned and broke his back and Johnny’s reading him the end of Gone With the Wind.  Oh my gosh!”  It was an ugly scene.  I’m sure if you read the book or seen the movie you remember bawling your eyes out too.  Of course, DH, growing up in a house full of boys is looking at her in disbelief.  I know he’s seen me in this state before, but I guess it’s different with your daughter.  She saw him looking at him and said, “What?!?  It was really, really sad.  They died!”  He started to chuckle and then we all did. 

Thank goodness we had put the boys to bed and were getting ready to watch a funny movie.  I told her she would like it and maybe something lighthearted would make her feel better.  She decided to hang out with us – yes, God still moves.  We all enjoyed the movie.  Afterward I asked if she felt better now.  God bless her, it was like the movie never happened and the water works started all over again.  I felt so bad for her because I’ve been there my friend.  Also, well, let’s just say teenage hormones can be vicious.  So it was better while we were watching the movie, but she started reading another book to get her mind off of it and didn’t get the sleep she should have Saturday night.

Romance – Sunday morning I went in DD’s room to wake her.  Her whole face was puffy from the crying jag the night before.  I relayed this to DH and he chuckled.  I let him know that teenage girls work a whole lot differently than teenage boys.  I asked him if he had ever read a book and been so into it that you feel like your a part of it.  He told me about a Louis L’Amore book he’d once read, but no, he’d never cried over a book.  I accused DH of never crying over anything.  I know he can feel deeply, but as most men, he has a hard time articulating feelings.  I see in his actions how he cares for those he loves, but I have never seen him cry a single tear.  I cry enough for both of us, so I guess it’s all even. 

What’s this got to do with romance?  I’ll continue.

Sunday was Baptist Men’s Day and DH was asked to give a testimony.  He’s got a pretty powerful story.  When he was 29 he became sick with a rare disease.  He was very sick and had it for 3-4 months before he was accurately diagnosed and treated.  A year or so after his diagnosis he was saved – I promise I’ll detail it for you in another post soon.  Anyway, he’s given testimony before and I figured it would be the same ‘ol same ‘ol – not that finding Jesus is boring in any way, shape or form – I just thought I was going to hear what I’d heard before. 

I love it when God surprises us!  He started by talking about the legacy he two grandfathers had left him.  One of them passed away over 10 years ago and the other just three weeks ago.  I witnessed what I have not witnessed before from my husband.  When he began to speak of them, he choked up.  There was something about seeing my husband openly emotional and broken that touched me deeper that I’ve been touched by him before. 

I didn’t want him to feel alone, so I joined him in the emotion from the pew in which I sat.  DD was also sitting with me and she too supported him. 🙂  She also leaned over and said, “This is what he gets for making fun of me last night.”  Then we chuckled ever so slightly between the two of us.

As he continued on in his testimony, he spoke of other men in his life that helped lead him to Christ.  I, of course, thought he was wonderful. 

His conclusion was about the blessings he knows he’s gotten since being saved.  Those blessings were me (gush), DD (he spoke so sweetly of the 4yr old little girl that entered his life) and the boys.  Once again, he choked up.  Once again, DD and I felt like we should support him from where we were.  I don’t know if he realized we were, but we were totally supporting him. LOL

For me, there is nothing sexier than a man declaring his feelings for his wife and family in front of God and everybody – literally. 

I’m heartfilled that DD got to hear that from him at a pivotal point in her life.  Being a teenager is hard enough in the best of circumstances, but even more so when you bounce back and forth between two home that could not be more different from each other if they tried.  I know there are times when she feels as if she doesn’t belong because it’s the nature of the beast – especially at this age. 

I’m also glad that he counts me as a blessing because, well don’t tell him this, but once in a great while I may be a bit difficult to live with.  And what a legacy he’s leaving to our boys.  They will someday be able to tell their children about their father’s unwavering faith and devotion to Jesus Christ.   They didn’t hear his testimony, but they see it every day and that’s the most powerful testimony of all.

No, we’re not some “super” family that does it all right all of the time.  We mess up and miss opportunities every day.  We also know who does do it right all of the time.

Well, now that you’ve finished today’s novella, I hope you have time to tend to your own family. 

Till tomorrow – Blessings & Hugs, Elizabeth

Responses

  1. What a great blog!! I just wish I had been up there to hear his testimony. I love the supporting role, as I am not as supportive of a wife in that area, but we all have our gifts. 🙂

  2. It was a pretty sweet moment. You have a good man there, E. 🙂


Leave a Reply

Categories

