Posted by: simplyelizabeth | February 2, 2009

The Reclining Throne

Disclaimer: This is not a male bashing post – just an observation of general gender commonalities.  I’m sure my husband has plenty of observations that relate to women.  DH can feel free to leave a lengthy comment regarding phone usage and women – or more specifically, me. 🙂

Let the babbling begin!

If husbands are the king of their homes, then their favorite chair in front of the TV is their throne.  My DH happens to have a throne that reclines.  He can wield much power from his reclining throne.  His scepter is the remote to the TV and various other electronic items that men find necessary.  From his throne he is able pretty much run his kingdom.  Now, there are the occassional times when he must leave his throne to convince certain young subjects he is very serious about discipline if they do not shape up immediately, but for the most part he’s in control from the chair. 

It’s amazing. 

I once thought my DH was the only one of a few with this incredible power.  I have since found it’s genetic. 

The boys argue over the reclining throne when DH is not around.  DS#1 thinks he should have it because he’s the oldest, DS#3 because he’s the baby and the baby should get everything (right?), and DS#2 thinks he should have it just because. 

The remote is a whole other story. 

DD and I remain on the couch and love seat where it’s safe and we can stretch out.  As she would say, we’re smart that way. 🙂

I don’t want to offend, so let me be clear in saying he helps out around the house – he doesn’t bark orders – but he sure does like his chair.

Hmmmmm.  Maybe I should look into one for myself.

Blessings & Hugs, Elizabeth

Leave a Reply

Categories

