Posted by: simplyelizabeth | February 19, 2009

Of Bee Bites, Mothers, Farms and Weigh Ins

OK.  I know yesterday I said I would start with Valentine’s Day and led you to believe I would tell you of my week.  I didn’t even get through Saturday, let alone Sunday, Monday, Tuesday, etc.  I will now attempt to give you the abridged version of the week.

Before I get into current events, I feel I should address the “funny name” issue from yesterday’s post.  You know, all the child experts tell you to be honest with your children and call certain parts of our anatomy by their proper names.  To be perfectly honest, I don’t want to be so honest with them.  I don’t want my 4 thru 8 year old running around saying the proper names.  We have so many issues with “potty talk” in our house and I simply cannot imagine what it would be like if they were running around speaking of these parts in the “proper” manner.  Well, it they’re running around talking about it, it’s not “proper” anyway.  So long story short, or short story long, I think that’s why I grew up calling “breasts”  “beebites”.  I don’t know why my mother thought one sounded better than the other, but she did.  So I continue the tradition.  DS#3 may end the tradition.

Okeedokee then!

Now, speaking of my mother, she called me yesterday morning to inform me she would not be able to pick the kiddos up after school because she had an eye appointment.  I said, “OK.  Is there anything wrong?” 

See, I had just taken her to an eye appointment a couple of weeks ago and that should have been it for the year.

She said, “Well, I called to see if I could get an appointment because I’ve had double vision the last couple of days.  They can get me in this afternoon.”

Me, “You’ve had double vision the last couple of days and you’ve been driving?!?  You’ve had double vision the last couple of days and you’ve been driving with my children.  I don’t feel very good about that mother.”

Mama, “If I close one eye I can see just fine.”

Me, “I see. Now I feel better.  Not!  Who will be driving you to your appointment?”

Mama, “I haven’t checked with anyone yet.”

Me, “If you can’t find anyone, call me back.  I don’t think you should drive 45 minutes on a country road with one eye closed.  Call me silly, but I don’t think it’s safe.”

She found someone.  Thank goodness! 

I don’t know what to say about aging parents other than it can be a new experience every day.

Now I want to tell you about my new addiction.  I just found out about it this week. 

It’s Farming on Facebook.

Check it out because you too may have an addiction that you’ve been unaware of until this point in your life.

Don’t laugh. I’ve gotten a lot of enjoyment out of it – even if I’ve only been doing it for a week.  It’s so exciting to harvest, plow and replant.  There’s something satisfying about it. 

I just can’t explain it. 

I guess I don’t have to explain it.

You can’t make me explain it because it’s my blog and I can like it if I want to.  Ha!

Last, but certainly not least, I love weigh ins at Weight Watchers when I lose!  It’s exhilarating! 

I lost today so my husband and I are going out to eat tonight.  🙂

Wouldn’t Weight Watchers be proud?

Blessings & Hugs, Elizabeth

Responses

  1. Oh, I’m so glad your back!! I knew the facebook thing would get your attention! 🙂

    Oh yeah, and thanks for the farming addiction!!

  2. you should blog about how the weight watchers works-it’s great you are having such success

    btw, how do you pronouse beebites? Is it like the bug then ites? I’ve never heard that one!

  3. Yay, weight loss! You are doing so awesome, and I am officially ready to get started. I need to be looking as good as you by this summer!

    Thanks for clarification on the beebites thing. I was losing sleep. 🙂

  4. I am rolling laughing at Aunt J driving down the street with one eye closed…. DYING laughing! No doubt, she pulled it off with grace and style!!!


Leave a Reply

Categories

