Posted by: simplyelizabeth | February 20, 2009

Flashback Friday!

Have you been waiting for it?  Have you been yearning for it?  Have you been pining away until there’s a pit in your stomach and you just can’t stand it anymore?!?!

If so, I have the name of a good therapist . . . . . .

Today it’s going to a hodge podge.  I had several requests so I thought I’d hit them all. 

I didn’t want to tell anybody “no”  and cause conflict.  I hate conflict.  It makes my stomach turn and I break out in hives. 

I digress – again.

So, how about those parachute pants?  Do you remember thinking you were waaaaaay cool when you were wearing your favorite pair?  Oh yeah baby!

Lest we never forget MC Hammer and Can’t Touch This.  The thought makes me want to run out an buy a pair right now. 

You too? 

I knew we were all soul mates!

Now, I think I’ve touched on this before, but what about big ’80’s hair. 

Uh huh.  You had it going on too and you know you did.

Don’t fight it.  Deep down you still want it. 

What was it that we used to keep our hair big and fluffy and feathered? 

AQUA NET! 

I still mourn for it some days. 

We really knew what a good hair do was in the ’80’s. 

Hmmmmm.  I’m reminiscing. 

And we will now move on to the ’80’s cartoons.  I believe someone brought She-Ra up to me. 

Now there’s a woman.  She gets a tiara like thing AND her own sword AND gets to be He-Man’s sister. 

I’m feeling all tingly just thinking about it.

There were warm fuzzy cartoons too, you know.  Do you remember The Gummie Bears?

Now, I can’t end this without reminding you of The Smurfs.  Which one of us didn’t want to be Smurfette? 

OK, that may be telling too much about my psyche.

I will now dare you to watch the opening of The Smurfs without letting tune take over your mind. 

Caution – you may not be able to forget this tune for a period of 48hrs.  If tune persists longer than this, seek medical help.

Blessings & Hugs, Elizabeth

Responses

  1. You are too good! I checked 3 times today for Flashback Friday – I was beginning to think that work had overtaken play!! But, I was not disappointed in the end! Stay away from gargamell (Sp?) this weekend!!!

  2. Ok, it’s been years since I’ve seen the smurfs, but once you said it, that tune popped into my head!! 🙂

    Oh yeah, I had me some big hair!!! There were days that my bangs could wave at you if there was a strong wind!! I don’t have any idea how many cans of hairspray I went through in a week, quite a few I’m sure!! Ah the memories!!

  3. I still sometimes sing the Gummy Bears theme song. I think the song was way better than the cartoon!


Leave a Reply

Categories

