Posted by: simplyelizabeth | February 27, 2009

Flashback Friday!

WooHoo!  Thank you God for Friday’s!

Seriously.

As I shared with you yesterday, I’m hooked on ZUMBA after only two visits.  It’s available on Saturday’s as well, but DS#1 has a basketball game. 

It’s so hard to be a parent sometimes.  I mean, this thinking of the kids first thing can become a real drag some days. 

Not really.  He’s fun to watch.  It’s fun to watch all of them do whatever the “extra” is that they want to do. 

So because I’m officially obsessed (Thanks Nancy!) I think we should pay homage to physical fitness crazes of the past.

First and foremost has got to be Richard Simmons. 

(I hear you groaning.  Stop it!  Really – I hear you.)

What came first –  Deal a Meal or Sweatin’ To the Oldies?

No, seriously, I can’t remember which one. 

Will somebody pleeeeeaaaasssse tell me? 

I must know or my day will be ruined!  Absolutely Ruined!

Please excuse me whilst I searcheth the internet for the answer. 

It’s taking you all too long to get back to me. 

OK – I’ve looked and still can’t figure this out.  It’s going to take a bit more research. 

In the mean time, please enjoy the following commercial.  It’s the 20yr revival of Sweatin’ To The Oldies.  Go on and watch it – it’s just a bit over a minute and it will make you smile.  I promise!

Now that we’ve visited with Richard I think Olivia should get an honorable mention. 

Olivia who?

Why, Olivia Newton of course!

Let’s get physical baby!

Didn’t you want to look just like her with the headband and leotard? 

I know you did – even if you aren’t willing to admit it.

She (Olivia) even got referenced on American Idol Wednesday night.  Paula referenced her when critiquing Nick, or was it Norman?

Anywho – This one is for you Olivia!

Go get physical – It’s time to work on the swimsuit bod!

Oh!  And if anyone knows what came first, Deal A Meal or Sweatin’ To The Oldies, let me know! 

For the love of all that is good and pure – please, please, please tell me!

Blessings & Hugs, Elizabeth

Responses

  1. I don’t know the answer to your question, but I know I will not go near “Let’s Get Physical” with a ten-foot pole. That song will be in my head for WEEKS if I listen to it!
    Do you remember Susan Powder? She may have been more 90s, but she sure was a fun one, too.

  2. i swear… every time i come here… i think to my self… what the heck is that…

    what is Zumba?

  3. I think Deal a Meal came first, but not sure. I don’t even have to watch video, Let’s get physical is already stuck in my head, I just had the read the words and it was over. Susan Powder was the 90’s, I remember her, she was sooooo annoying!!

  4. I don’t remember Deal a Meal or Susan Powder. I like to eat!!
    -d Zumba is jazzercize on steroids!!

  5. I gave Richard about 30 seconds and couldn’t bring myself to hit the Olivia play button. Some things are best left in the past. 🙂 Have fun at the b-ball game!

  6. The Sweatin’ To The Oldies was just too much!! SOOOO funny! They really got into it!


Leave a Reply

Categories

