Posted by: simplyelizabeth | March 27, 2009

Flashback Friday

Oooooooo!  What to do today? There are so many options, I just don’t know where to start.

It feels like a movie day to me.

How about The Karate Kid and Ralph Macchio.  Oh my!  Ralph, will you teach me how to wax on and wax off? 

My kitchen floor could sure use it. 

Better yet, will you teach my kids?

Then there was the Peter Cetera’s Glory of Love theme song.  I so wanted to be Elisabeth Shue.  I mean, like, we have the same first name and all.  Geesh!

Now I just really like the idea of Ralph coming to my house to teach the kids wax on, wax off.  After they’re done with the kitchen floor, they can do my van.

How about listening to The Glory of Love, a live version to prepare for a romantic evening with the hubster or significant other.  Ahhhhh.   I just love this song. . . . . .We’ll live together, knowing forever that we did it all for the glory of love.  Wow! 

Is it warm in here?

Listen up!  The mommy in me feels the need to tell you that if you’re not married, don’t be doin’ it all for love like the song says. 

Thanks.  I feel better now. 

If you’re in a “I want to have fun!” mood, let’s visit Ferris Bueller’s Day Off.

Save Ferris!

What a fun movie.  It really doesn’t teach anything worthwhile, but it sure is fun to watch. 

John Hughes was a movie making genius.

Just my humble opinion.

Wendy – we need to have a John Hughes movie day! 

Do you think we could pull that off as a Christian Women’s Retreat? 

You’re right.  Probably not.

So, what was your favorite part of Ferris Bueller’s day off?  I just really liked it all – from the body he had in bed, to the parade, to Cameron’s dad’s car going out the plate glass window. 

Well, honestly that part made me a little nervous because I’ve always hated it when people get in trouble on movies.  I hate it when they do things they aren’t supposed to do.  I can’t watch Pinocchio to this day because it gives me too much anxiety and heartburn to see him continually go down the wrong path. 

I’m the wimp that Jack Nicholson speaks of in A Few Good Men – I Can’t Handle It!

So, with that interesting insight into my Psyche, let’s Twist & Shout right into the weekend! 

Woo Hoo!

And to make it extra special, I’ve chosen a clip with foreign subtitles.

Why subtitles? Because I want it to be said that I broaden your horizons. 

Or maybe it’s what I could find at the time I wrote this.

You choose.

At any rate – Have fun!

Blessings & Hugs, Elizabeth

Responses

  1. Make sure you send Ralph my way when your done with him. My hardwood floors need waxing, along with a deck sanded, and painting to be done as well!!

    You forgot Top Gun, and “you’ve lost that lovin feeling” to go along with the doing it for the glory of love. Loved Tom Cruise in Top Gun, before all the couch jumping, crazy scientology stuff!!

  2. New look! I like! I like! Okay, Ferris is a GREAT movie. Too much to comment on. And Glory of Love….WOW, I LOVE THAT SONG! They don’t play it nearly often enough on the radio. The Karate Kid never really “did it” for me, except for the part where he catches a fly with chop sticks. That was pretty cool!

  3. Oh, don’t get me started on Ralph Macchio…he was such the desire of my little 2nd grade heart. What a hunk.

  4. I LOVED that song & I have seen Ferris Bueller’s day off!! 🙂 Amber – good call on Top Gun – that is one of my favorites – take me to bed or lose me forever!!!


Leave a Reply

Categories

