Posted by: simplyelizabeth | May 5, 2009

A Firm Foundation

My hope is built on nothing less than Jesus love and righteousness.  I dare not trust the sweetest frame, but wholly trust in Jesus name.

On Christ the Solid Rock I stand, all other ground is sinking sand, all other ground is sinking sand.

Over the last few months I’ve come to realize the importance of a firm foundation through an unlikely source. 

It’s Zumba. 

That’s right, an exercise class.

See, when I first started Zumba, I really didn’t have the proper foundation garmets to participate.  I went to Walmart and got what I thought would do, but it didn’t.  I knew it wasn’t working, but I didn’t know what I needed.

I then had a friend give me an exercise magazine that had an article about having the right kind of undergarmet for your body.  For people with my attributes, you need something that lifts and seperates.  If you do not follow this advice, you will end up with a “uni-boob”. 

The words in the article – not mine. 

From personal experience though – they speaketh the truth. 

Everytime I went to Zumba, I felt deformed.  I felt less than those around me.  I felt like I did not belong.  I felt like “the girls”  may have felt this way too, because it seemed to me they were that they were trying, however unsuccessfully, to escape their bondage. 

I may have looked something like Judy Garland in The Wizard of Oz.  If you are not aware, there was much ado about binding up her budding womanhood in the movie to make her appear younger.  Poor girl.  Poor girls! 

Judy – If you can hear me – I have felt your pain my sister. 

So back to the story. I went again to the sports bra section and found what I needed.  It lifted, seperated and had a zipper up the front.  The first evening I put it on, I felt like a new woman.  I was lock and loaded and ready for action!  I would stay in one place instead of being in fifty. 

Before my new purchase, I was trying to fit myself into something that wasn’t meant for me.  Even though I had squeezed into this form, it still left me unsupported as I jumped around in my Zumba class.  With the proper tools, I was now transformed.

You may see this as an “unsupported” segway, but I got to thinking how many of us walk around this way in our Christian life.  We walk around trying to make something work that just doesn’t.  We walk around trying to make do with what we’ve got.  We walk around trying to fit into a world in which we do not belong.

Can I get an “Amen!” ?

Hello?  (Knock Knock Knock)

Are you still with me?

Well, I’ll do like I do at home and keep talking until I get an acknowledgement.

For me, I was not getting out of Zumba what I should because I had the wrong foundational garments.  I was working hard for a good cause (to make myself fit & healthy), yet flopping around like a fish out of water. 

Once again, let’s make this parrallel to our Christian walk.  I knew I needed a firm foundation for the endowed upper half of my body, but I didn’t know what specifically was required.  When I got information from the right place, it made all the difference in the world in my workouts.  (It probably made a difference to those standing around me as well.)

Before we were saved, we knew something was missing.  Once we felt the call on our heart, we knew exactly what was missing.  Knowing what you need and doing are two different things.  If you don’t get the right information, you too will be flopping like a fish out of water – desperately trying to get someplace and going nowhere fast. 

We have got to go to the source, The Word, and find God’s specific instructions.  When we do, we will be standing on terra firma (that’s Latin for firm ground – it’s fun to get fancy now and then), the rock and no more will we be subject to the dangers of shifting sand.

Let me give you some scripture to back up my babble.

  1. 1 Timothy 6:19
    In this way they will lay up treasure for themselves as a firm foundation for the coming age, so that they may take hold of the life that is truly life.
  2. 2 Timothy 2:19
    Nevertheless, God’s solid foundation stands firm, sealed with this inscription: “The Lord knows those who are his,” and, “Everyone who confesses the name of the Lord must turn away from wickedness.”

Here’s the part about reading and heading The Word.

Matthew 7:26
But everyone who hears these words of mine and does not put them into practice is like a foolish man who built his house on sand.

So, there are my random thoughts that may or may not speak to you. 

Just quickly, I have an addition to the above.  I don’t know that I can tie this to anything but living life and expecting the unexpected.

Last night at Zumba, I was bouncing my little heart out and all the sudden disaster struck.  I went to adjust my foundation and the zipper came undone – from the bottom up. 

I hear you saying, “Aaarrrrrggghhh!  Say it ain’t so!!!!!”

But it was.

The girls went flying and I almost injured the fitness enthusiast next to me.  I spent the next 5 or 6 minutes in the bathroom trying to put myself back together.  I got it the best I could, but I knew it wasn’t good.  (If I’d only had some duck tape handy . . . ) I went back out to exercise and tried to make it a little more low key for myself.  We all did just fine until the next to the last song.  I was loosed all over again, but not in a good way.  I had to pick up my keys, water bottle and cell phone and excuse myself from cool down. 

I will put this behind me, though and do it again tomorrow – with a new zipper of course.

My sisters, I cannot emphasize enough the importance of a firm foundation.  It will protect your from backsliding zippers and other perils you may encounter in life. 

I will conclude with, “Stand firm, don’t jiggle.  You never know what might be shaking that you don’t want to.”

Blessings & Hugs, Elizabeth

Responses

  1. Funny, and so true! Boy, God must have really been tryin’ to speak to you if He did it through the perils of undergarments! 🙂

  2. A firm foundation is a great thing to have in more ways than one!!

    Thanks for the laugh and the lesson, glad you got it all put back together!! 🙂

  3. I love it!! I’m so glad I was in the Zumba class to experience your face when the foundation was loosed!! 🙂


Leave a Reply

Categories

