Posted by: simplyelizabeth | May 11, 2009

Oh What A Beautiful Day!

It is such a beautiful morning here that I have Oh What Beautiful Morning, from the musical Oklahoma, playing in my head.  Yesterday was my beautiful day.

Mother’s day wasn’t filled with accolades from my children and husband about how wonderful I am.  There was no chocolate.  There were no diamonds.  There was no breakfast in bed either.

There were a couple of hand made cards about how much I’m loved.  I will carefully tuck those away to read on days I’ve simply had too much.  There was love though.  Lots of love. 

I got snuggles from the kiddos.  DH did make me breakfast – even asked what I wanted.  It was pretty low key on the home-front, but that was OK because I got to do what I wanted to do. 

What did I want to do?

I just wanted to be with my mom – by myself.

Can I get an Amen?

I love my children dearly and I think they are precious – even the teenager that’s decided to leave – but I love my me time too. 

It was a perfect day as far as I was concerned.  We started out at church and then went home.  I changed clothes and my mom and I took off to go shop. 🙂

We spent almost 6 wonderful, laugh filled, bargain snatching and food snacking hours together.  I honestly don’t remember the last time my mom and I had that kind of time together that was uninterrupted time. 

It was simply wonderful!

I was blessed. 

I’d like to think she was too. 

Well, I know she was because she treated me to some bargains.  It is better to give than receive so it HAD to be all good for her.

Right?

No, I’m not really that thoughtless and self centered.  Geesh!  She’s getting a homemade German Chocolate Cake out of the deal.  I don’t know if you’ve ever made one of those from scratch, but there’s a lot labor that goes into those folks. 

The taste is so worth it!  If I’m lucky, she’ll share a piece with me. 

I was definitely blessed yesterday by being able to spend time with her.  I feel as if I’m surrounded by people lately who are not able to do the same because of health reasons or because their mothers have passed away. 

I was the lucky one yesterday.

We laughed so hard on the way home that we were both crying.  I think I almost hyperventilated.  At one point, I thought I should maybe pull over because I couldn’t get my eyes to “unsquint”. 

You know what I mean – you get to laughing uncontrollably and your face just seems to automatically squish up.  It was at this point that tears were streaming out the sides of my eyes. 

It was all good.

When I got home, I got my present from the family.  The house was in better shape when I returned than when I left. 

Yippee!

That was what I asked for. 

Truly I did. 

I don’t think they all put the same amount of effort – but it was done none the less.

I was a happy Mama. 

Isn’t that what it’s all about? 

Yeah, right!  

Sometimes it’s fun to live in a delusional state.

I told DH that he too can go away on Father’s Day and bond with whomever he chooses.  He kinda liked that idea. 

Is it whomever or whoever?  I’m confused.  Can the English majors out there refresh my memory?

And oh my goodness!  I can’t let you get away without telling you the precious act of kindness DS#2 showed me. 

I was getting ready to leave the little darlins’ and so I wanted to tell them all goodbye and get my hugs and kisses and maybe even a couple of butterflies.  I bid farewell to DD and DS#1 in the house.  DS#2 & DS#3 were in the back yard. 

I stepped outside and called for them. 

Me, “I’m leaving boys.  Come give me hugs and kisses.”

I guess I won’t be able to yell that to them in the back yard much longer or else they may die of embarrassment.  Hmmmm.  I’ll have to file that thought away.

DS#2, “Where you goin’?”

Me, “Honey, I told you Grandma and I are going shopping.”

DS#2, “Oh yeah.  Sure.  OK.  I’m going to give you a kiss, but not a hug because I’ve been diggin’ for worms and my hands are dirty.  Look!  I got one.” , he says with a grin that stretches ear to ear as he holds out his prize for me to see.

Me, “Why yes you do!  Thank you for not wanting to get mommy dirty.  I appreciate your thoughtfulness.”

Yep, that little boy is full of consideration for others.

Have a Beautiful Day my sisters! 

Blessings & Hugs, Elizabeth

PS – A bloggy friend of mine has a fun idea – go here and check her out!

mqm

Responses

  1. I’m glad you got some good mama time!! Although there are times my mother drives me crazy, I do miss the days of just shopping with my mom. Living so far away has advantages and disadvantages.


Leave a Reply

Categories

