Posted by: simplyelizabeth | May 12, 2009

Another Hair Cut

Today will be a quick ditty, but I feel I should document it for later in life.  I don’t want to forget this and I know I’ll want to pull it out of my arsenal when DS#2 has children of his own. 

Last night we all went to the Jr. High for Athletic Awards Night.  These things are always a practice in patience and endurance for me.  Judging from most of the parents that were around us, I am not alone in this feeling. 

Anyway, DS#2 was sitting next to me.  Periodically he would look at me and he would quietly comment on what was going on, when it would be sis’s (DD) turn and the order of the evening. 

What he was really saying was, “How long do we have to sit here and be good/quiet/still because I’m a 6 year old boy that has not gotten my energy out for the day.” 

Of course he couldn’t articulate it that way, but that’s what he meant.

So, one of these times I noticed the eyelashes on his right eye looked strange.  Why, they looked like they’d been trimmed.  I asked if they had been cut.  I got an immediate sad face and bowed head with the tiniest of  yes shakes happening simultaneously. 

I thought my gosh!  He could’ve poked his eye out – literally!

I said, “Honey, why would you do that?”

DS#2, “I don’t know.”

This is my least favorite answer in the whole world, but I had to let it go because we were in public.  We were supposed to not be talking so we could be respectful to those who were presenting.  I was proud of myself for letting it go.

A little later I noticed there was something beneath his right eye.  I went to wipe it away and it wouldn’t come off.  I tried again and again and finally I used my fingernails to gently grab it.  That worked, but when I pulled it off, it came in a string like manner.  It was gum.  Oooo!

I said, “DS#2, did you cut your eyelashes because you had gotten gum in them?”

DS#2, “Yes mommy.”  with tears welling up because he knew it was all wrong and not acceptable and he may never be able to have another piece of gum for the rest of his life. 

 We’ve had gum issues in the past and that phrase may have slipped out. 

Once again, he didn’t articulate this, but I’m in touch with my children and just know these things.  🙂

So, the moral is  . . . . . . .does there have to be one?

I don’t know. 

I just thought I’d share.

If you see my boy walking around, check out the trim he gave his eyelashes. 

Yes, the scissors are put up higher now. 

Blessings & Hugs, Elizabeth

Responses

  1. Ohmygosh. That was the craziest story. I’ve heard of hair taking the fall for gum mishaps, but never eyelashes! Poor kid. I can only imagine he was in a panic over what to do. Cutting them off seems logical at that age. 🙂

  2. I can’t figure out how he got the gum stuck in his eyelashes in the first place!?!?! That had be some sticky gum to have to cut it out, instead of just pulling it out!!


Leave a Reply

Categories

