Posted by: simplyelizabeth | May 26, 2009

And Here It Is – The Drum Roll Please

OK, now that it’s been over a week, this probably won’t be as exciting,but I’ll give it a shot. 

Ladies Unity Night was a blast!  It was two weeks ago this coming Friday. 

Let me give you the run down.  I was a driver this year. 

I was late.

I was scolded by Angie’s mom.  It made me feel like I belonged to her. 

Thanks Arlene – I love you too.

So since I said I was going to document it with pictures, let me show you the crew that was with me.

003

There’s Arlene, Nicole and Amy, our pastor’s wife, is in the back seat.  I bet you’re all feeling the love of God that was in the van by this picture alone.

You can thank me for the spiritual experience later.  If you do it now, you’ll just be interrupting the flow and there is soooooo much more to come my sisters!

No I didn’t take this picture!  I was driving silly!  Angie did.

And what does Angie look like?

005

Look!  It’s me too!  (I’m the one in the driver’s seat.)

We weren’t even half way there and we were already giddy with excitement and anticipation. 

I may have gotten a little too much into our conversation because I looked down and saw this.

006

I announced to my passengers that I was speeding.  Amy immediately feared for her life and texted Angel in the vehicle behind us.  In all the Christian love Angel could muster, she texted back and told Amy she didn’t want to hear it because the driver of her vehicle was texting at that very moment.

See.  You can always look around and see someone worse off than yourself.  I’m sure it comforted Amy.  Buckle up Buttercup! 🙂

Here we are going into Ladies Unity Night.

 

007 

Here’s Kelly.  She’s the texting driver.  She’s so sweet and beautiful, I think we’ll let her off on a warning.

008

Here’s Angel.  We love her too.  She’s ever organized and a driving force.  Some days I want to be like her when I grow up, even though she’s younger that I am, but then I realize she works a whole lot harder than I want too.  Go get ’em Angel!  I’ll smile and cheer you on my sister!

010

Here’s Lori.  She’s calling the authorities to let them know we arrived safely and there’s no need to pick us up now.  She’s assuring them we were not drunk driving  – we’re Southern Baptist for Pete’s sake!  Thanks for calling in the favor Lori!

There were others from our church, but none brave enough to be seen with us. 

Cowards!

Just kidding.  I love you all!  I really do!

We went in, sat down and listened to a terrific evening of Lysa Terkeust.  What a testimony! 

I’m a slug.  I’m not worthy.  I’m truly turning my life over to God, again, and I’m not going to argue with him anymore.  He knows better than I do.

Even though I’m giving Amy a hard time, she gave me the best compliment I’ve gotten in years.  Maybe decades.  She told me my blog read like Lysa spoke.

Way cool!  Thanks my sister!

I have to remember, it’s not me – it’s God inspired.

Whoa.  That may be giving God a back handed compliment, but I truly believe he has a sense of humor.

Lysatold of how people often think she’s a super mom because she’s written a couple of books and she goes on speaking engagements.  She assured us she was like us.  It turns out she’s like me.  She tries to compete withother super mom’s of the world and crashes and burns.  I’m sure it’s not quite as bad as she says, but I think she has her fair share of blunders.  She used birthday parties as an example.  She talked of women who make every birthday they have for their children top the one before.  You know the ones.  They get the Barnum & Bailey Circus to come to their back yard for free and make individual birthday cakes that look like the circus animals for each and every person that attends.  They then use the manure left behind to “go green” in their garden and start a compost pile with the left over food.  She compared herself to a woman that would say, “Come on over for cake for LuLu’s birthday party.  It’s only been in the freezer since last year.”

Yep.

That would be me.

Lori told me this is what reminded her of  me.  Thanks for your honesty sister.  I needed to be brought back down to Earth after Amy’s comment. LOL

Can I quickly add that a birthday disaster – semi-disaster – occurred the following Tuesday?  Yes, poor DS#3 celebrated his 5th birthday last Tuesday.  We asked him what he wanted to eat.  Of course he said McDonald’s.  He also wanted a Dairy Queen cake. 

No problem. 

He wanted to go to the next town over to their play place at the encouragement of his brothers. 

No problem. 

We pile in the minivan and go to the McDonald’s with the big, indoor play place.  We pull in the parking lot.

Problem.

Evidently we haven’t been to this McDonald’s for awhile because they tore down the old one and built a new one – without a play place.

Yep.  Truly, truly I say to you we felt a bit deflated for the little man.  He wanted to eat there anyway, so we obliged.

I hope this doesn’t come up in therapy someday.

Eating? 

Oh yes!

When it was over, we went to OUTBACK!   WooHoo!

Here are some shots of us at the table.  Please forgive my lack of picture taking skill.

019

Wait a minute!  That’s not us!  It’s Mayor Duke Bennett from the fair town we were in.  Do you believe he let me take his picture even when I told him it was going to be used for my blog for which 5 people follow faithfully? 

021

This is Toby.  He was our server.  He was nice to put up with us.  He wanted to know if I was taking pics for an article in a paper.  Silly boy!  Can I slip in that I believe he treated me differently after I took his pic?  All of the sudden I was hon, sweetie and dear.  Now, service wasn’t bad before.  In fact, it was quite good, but it was better after I paid attention to him.  🙂 

024

This is a blurry picture of Wendy’s Chicken Quesadilla dinner.  Yummy!  Note – Wendy wasn’t able to make it to see Lysa, but she made sure she met us to eat.  Hmmmm.  What do you think that says about us?

031

This is what our plates looked like at the end of the evening. 

027

You can’t see it, but we all had full tummies and were very happy.  You can see the very happy part.  You can deduce the full tummy part by the mostly empty plates.

028

I really need to work on my camera skills.  This is Teresa, Nicole & Wendy.

029

More blurry people.  *Sigh*  Wendy’s mom, Janet, is in the middle.  She’s a hoot!  She made it for the food too.  Gotta love her!

I believe I’m going to wrap it up here folks.  I’ve subjected you to enough bad pictures and cheap humor.  I did feel like there were some Earth shattering moments for me in Lysa’stalk.  I’ll have to share those with you at a later date, maybe, if I remember. 

The important thing was that it was another great night of fellowship and food.  I don’t know if you can really have one without the other and be a woman. 

Hmmm. 

Another deep thought to ponder from the depths of my mind.

Hey!

Cut it out with the shallow water jokes!

It’s not very Christian of  you.  Sisters need to support each other.

Blessings & Hugs, Elizabeth

Responses

  1. So fun! I was wondering when you were going to post this thing…you took enough pictures for it! I love the ones of all of our empty plates at the table. We look like pigs. Probably why I was up two pounds at weigh-in. 🙂 It was a fun night…I’m so glad we all went!

  2. I love it!! Glad you are back….next year I am going to make it to the non-food part again – I missed out on so much before stuff! Also, I forgot to “share” with you all – that as we were leaving in the downpour – I ran over a parking concrete thing. (I asked around what their technical term was & no one around here knew!) Can’t believe my mother hasn’t ratted me out yet about that….

  3. I think you forgot to mention…Amy wasn’t the only one scared. Everyone in the car was holding their breath as you took wild and crazy curves and turns. And look…Wendy has trouble driving sometimes too. Can I just get a little slack about the head lights already!
    It was good fun…always look forward to being with freinds who are so great they feel like family!
    Hugs!


Leave a Reply

Categories

