Posted by: simplyelizabeth | May 27, 2009

Regina Brett – A New Favorite

I was sent this yesterday by a friend’s mom.  Hi JoAnn if you’re reading!  I loved it!  It touched me and I think it will you all too.  There’s lots of truth in the words below.  Because I like to write, I thought I’d add a few comments too.  This isn’t to make it better – just to give it a slightly different flavor.  There’s reference to food again.  Hmmm.  I need help.

I hope this isn’t considered plagerizing.  Don’t tell on me if it is.  OK? 

Enjoy!

Regina Brett’s 45 life lessons and 5 to grow on

by Regina Brett

Sunday May 28, 2006, 10:13 AM

To celebrate growing older, I once wrote the 45 lessons life taught me.

It is the most-requested column I’ve ever written. My odometer rolls over to 50 this week, so here’s an update:  (The email says she’s turning 90, but her website assures us she’s not.  🙂  I’ll leave my additions in italics and feel free to add your own in the comments.)

1. Life isn’t fair, but it’s still good.   And Amen!

2. When in doubt, just take the next small step.  Even if the step feels not so little.

3. Life is too short to waste time hating anyone.  Amen again sister! 

4. Don’t take yourself so seriously. No one else does.  As if I needed a reminder.

5. Pay off your credit cards every month.   Sound advice.

6. You don’t have to win every argument. Agree to disagree.  My Mama says the agree to disagree part.  It only took me 36 years to realize she’s smart. 🙂

7. Cry with someone. It’s more healing than crying alone.  Regina, can I meet you?

8. It’s OK to get angry with God. He can take it.  Thank you God for letting me throw unwarranted tantrums!

9. Save for retirement starting with your first paycheck.  Well, I tried.

10. When it comes to chocolate, resistance is futile.  Regina, We MUST meet!  I know we’re kindred spirits!

11. Make peace with your past so it won’t screw up the present.  Deep and very true.

12. It’s OK to let your children see you cry.  That’s good, because they have.

13. Don’t compare your life to others’. You have no idea what their journey is all about.  You’d think we would be too busy to compare, but we’re human do this sort of silly stuff. 

14. If a relationship has to be a secret, you shouldn’t be in it.  Ahem!  I sooooo like this woman I did not know before today.  Hey!  This reminds me that my Mama also says, “Secrets are lies.”  Yep, she was a real kill joy growing up. LOL

15. Everything can change in the blink of an eye. But don’t worry; God never blinks.  Thanks again God!  You are Great and Mighty and worthy of my humble, inadequate worship and praise.

16. Life is too short for long pity parties. Get busy living, or get busy dying.  It’s a shame most of us miss this until something “big and bad” happens within our lives.  Makes me think of Garth Brooks song The Dance. 

17. You can get through anything if you stay put in today.  Oh my gosh!  Another Mama thought.  She says, “Don’t borrow trouble.”  Hey, if you see her, don’t tell her I’m going on and on about her because I just hate having to tell her she’s right.  You understand, right?

18. A writer writes. If you want to be a writer, write.  I’m writing!  I’m writing!

19. It’s never too late to have a happy childhood. But the second one is up to you and no one else.  Yep!  You can only be responsible for you!

20. When it comes to going after what you love in life, don’t take no for an answer.  Easier said than done, but so worth it!

21. Burn the candles, use the nice sheets, wear the fancy lingerie. Don’t save it for a special occasion. Today is special.  OK Regina.  We may part ways here because if use the nice sheets and fancy lingerie, it just creates more laundry.  How about use the nice sheets and skip the lingerie because I believe you’ll get the same end result.  Anyone want to input?

22. Overprepare, then go with the flow.  This would mean I must quit procrastinating.  I guess I’m old enough to stop that now.

23. Be eccentric now. Don’t wait for old age to wear purple.  I believe I am a bit thank you!

24. The most important sex organ is the brain.  Hello.  (knock, knock, knock)  Men, are you listening?

25. No one is in charge of your happiness except you.  Covered this in #19.

26. Frame every so-called disaster with these words: “In five years, will this matter?”  Love This!  I must adopt it!  I know a few of my friends that may want to as well.  I’m just sayin’.

27. Always choose life.  Amen and Amen!

28. Forgive everyone everything.  Tall order, but great therapy.

29. What other people think of you is none of your business.  Can I get this engraved in stone?  One of you can for me for Christmas!  There’s plenty of time for you all to plan.  I’m thoughtful that way.

30. Time heals almost everything. Give time time.  So true.  Just remember that time is His, not ours when you think otherwise of this phrase.

31. However good or bad a situation is, it will change.  Change is certain.

32. Your job won’t take care of you when you are sick. Your friends will. Stay in touch.  Don’t I know this!

33. Believe in miracles.  How boring would life be if we didn’t?

34. God loves you because of who God is, not because of anything you did or didn’t do.  Thank you God for loving me despite me.

35. Whatever doesn’t kill you really does make you stronger.  Yep. Yep. Yep.  Pleeeeaaaase Regina!  Can I meet you?

36. Growing old beats the alternative – dying young.  Young is a relative term when you think of those close to you that have gone on.  However, I pray God grants me old age surrounded by my kiddos and their kiddos. 

37. Your children get only one childhood. Make it memorable.  No pressure.

38. Read the Psalms. They cover every human emotion.  Psalms melt like butter over my tongue to penetrate my soul.  (Regina – I may have to stock you.  Just kidding.  Really.  The hubby and 4 kiddos and full time job outside of the house keep me from committing that kind of time to you.)

39. Get outside every day. Miracles are waiting everywhere.  Even if it’s 40 below?

40. If we all threw our problems in a pile and saw everyone else’s, we’d grab ours back.  Uh-huh!  I’ve seen and I’m more comfortable with mine.

41. Don’t audit life. Show up and make the most of it now.  I admit I go on autopilot too often after work and dinner

42. Get rid of anything that isn’t useful, beautiful or joyful.  I’m working on having a garage sale in a couple of weeks.  Does this count?

43. All that truly matters in the end is that you loved.  Sometimes it’s the love at the very end of the day that matters most.  😉

44. Envy is a waste of time. You already have all you need.  Sometimes we can’t see the forest for the trees.

45. The best is yet to come.  Can’t wait!

46. No matter how you feel, get up, dress up and show up.  It just makes you feel better!  Doesn’t it?

47. Take a deep breath. It calms the mind.  Maybe I should do this more often.  Then I might not get so frustrated with my little darlins’.

48. If you don’t ask, you don’t get.  Guess what?  My Mama says, “It never hurts to ask.”  Wow! 

49. Yield.  Don’t know what to make of this one.  Anyone?  Anyone?

50. Life isn’t tied with a bow, but it’s still a gift.  Once again, thank you God for being you and giving more than I/we deserve.

You can check out some more of Regina here.

Blessings & Hugs, Elizabeth

Responses

  1. great lessons!


Leave a Reply

Categories

