Posted by: simplyelizabeth | June 8, 2009

I Know Now . . . .

I’ve been through lots of emotional ups and downs in the last couple of months since my DD told me she’ll be going to live with her dad next year.  I believe she feels that she’s missed out on something because she doesn’t remember living with him.  I believe she feels it will be more “fair” at her dad’s than it is here and she certainly knows that more attention will come her way since there will be no pesky little brothers to get in her way.  She won’t have to share or wait her turn because she will be the only child in his home.  Finances will flow more freely because of her father’s work position and, yet again I say, there will be no pesky little brothers that have needs with which to contend. 

For whatever real or imagined reason, I’m trying very hard not to take it personally.  I’ve shed more tears than I can count and spent hours on my face crying out to Heavenly Father for protection for her, for her eyes to see the truth, for comfort for me, my husband, my boys and my mom and for the grace I need to deal with my DD on a daily basis.  I’ve spent time with the Father begging Him to take away my feelings of anger, despair and pride and fill those places with the Fruits of the Spirit.  These are just a few of the things I’ve done to bend the situation into something I see as acceptable.

Now, let me tell you what God has been doing.  He has put me in a position of complete and total submission to Him.  I am not in control of this situation in any way, shape or form.  (Thank goodness, I’ve found when I’m “in control” that things don’t always go so well.)  He has and is drawing me closer to Him than I have been in a very long time.  He’s shown  me illustrations that apply to my life daily.  He’s shown me day after day, hour after hour and sometimes minute by minute, that His grace is most assuredly sufficient. 

This may all sound a bit dramatic, because, after all, it’s not like I’ll never see my daughter again.  However, I feel with every fiber of my being that there is a spiritual battle waging for my daughter.  I don’t take these feelings lightly. She has accepted Christ, but I see her being lured into believing what the world has to offer is better – more fulfilling.  I battle back with principalities and prayer.  What the other side doesn’t realize is that there are prayer warriors fighting for her and they will win because we know how it all turns out in the end.  I pray.  DH prays. My mom prays.  My church family prays.

Thank you Father God for reminding me of what I already knew.

Blessings & Hugs, Elizabeth

Responses

  1. Whoa, that’s not an easy situation, but you’re definitely taking the only sure-fire approach. No matter what, God will have her in His safe hands. It says to train up a child in the way they should go, and when he is old, he will not depart from it. All you can do now is continue to pray and believe that God’s Word IS true and will not return void.

  2. I pray….and will continue to.

  3. Your extended family prays.


Leave a Reply

Categories

