Posted by: simplyelizabeth | June 11, 2009

I Wasn’t Meant To, Really Mom.

I often wonder to myself, “Am I as brain damaged as my children are?  Does God view me the way I view them?”  He probably does.  I hope I at least make Him laugh.  Maybe that’s why I’m here – comic relief for God.  Hmmm.

Today is about DS#2.

Many times when we have a pick up time in our home, grumbling begins.  When it’s all said and done, DD, DS#1 and DS#3 do their share.  It’s not always the way I want it, but it’s done. 

DS#2 says, “I don’t want to.  It will take too long.”  He then proceeds to do whatever he wants to do and does not pick up even so much as a piece of lint of off himself. 

No, I do not find this acceptable.

I send him to his room.

This is not working.  He doesn’t seem to mind being in his room.

Last night the kiddos wanted to go out, but they had not picked up in their playroom.  I told them they could go out after they had done what they were asked to do.

DS#1 & DS#3 rose up in chorus to tell me they had done their jobs, but DS#2 had not. 

We had words.

Me, “DS#2, you cannot continue to disobey your dad and me.  When we tell you to do something, we mean it.  It’s not a suggestion, it’s a command.  Nobody really likes to pick up and clean.  Well, except for grandma and we know she has issues that we keep in prayer.  But, anyway, everybody has to help out and everybody means you too.”

DS#2, “Mom, I just wasn’t meant to.  Really mom.”

Me, “What do you mean ‘you just werent’ meant to’?”

DS#2, “It’s not how I am.”

Me, “Honey, that just doesn’t make any sense.”

DS#2, “It’s not how God made me.”

Me, “Excuse me?  God made you to not pick up?  I don’t think God made you that way.  God wants us to work and work together to help each other.”

DS#2, “Mom, he just didn’t make me that way.”

OK, let’s remember that DS#2 is 6 years old.  I am scared that he is trying to use these reasoning tactics on me.  Pray for us all!

Me, “DS#2, God and I are going to discuss this and I assure you that when we’re done, he’ll tell me you misunderstood how you were made.  Now get in there and pick up!  Did you hear me say NOW?”

He gets an E for effort. 

I wonder if that would work for me?

Nope.

Well, to somewhat bring it full circle, I do feel that way sometimes.  I feel that God made me a certain way and other people just have to deal with it.  The fact of the matter is, while God made me the way he did, I’m to lean on Him in my weaknesses.  Those little traits that I feel are so much a part of me are really there to shape me into who He wants me to become.

Holy cow!  There I go with the prepositional phrases again!  I hope Mrs. Mulvaney, my high school English teacher,  doesn’t stop by here today.

Back to the point.  Our “special” things we all have are special because they are meant to bring us closer to our Heavenly Father.  You might say they are to be our own personal “change agent”. 

Ooooo!  See how I tied that in with yesterday?  That was sooooo cool!

OK, I could go deeper my sisters, but I’m out of time today.  If you would like me to go deeper, just let me know.  If you want me to keep the fluff coming, just let me know. 

Have a wonderful day!

Blessings & Hugs, Elizabeth

Responses

  1. Oooh, good parallel. His response to you just made me laugh out loud. What a thing to say to your mom! Yet, I can see how easily we use that excuse with ourselves. Good lesson, E!


Leave a Reply

Categories

