Posted by: simplyelizabeth | June 24, 2009

Rambling all the way to someplace in the deep recesses of my mind – Better bring your bread crumbs so you don’t get lost

Do you think I could win an award for the longest blog title ever?  OK, at least the longest blog title today?

I haven’t been here, but my mind has.  My mind has wondered here through numerous conversations with the kiddos.  Like when DS#2 asked me if I was ever going to not have to go to work before I was old, because old people don’t work you know. 

Then there was DS#3 telling me my stomach was like a soft fluffy pillow to him.  DH laughed.  I reminded him of our wedding vows.  The “til death do us part” part and told him it doesn’t say how death must come about in order for us to part.  🙂  I then told DS#3 that he most certainly was not working toward most favored child status and he should really rethink it.

DD is gone to her dad’s so I have nothing to contribute to her good or bad stockpile.

DS#1 was precious this weekend in helping a friend’s daughter that has a physical disability.  I didn’t catch him being good, but the friend did and told me about it.  A bunch of kids were in a bounce house and he became her protector from the other wild and crazy children around her.  He encouraged her and helped her get through it.  It made my heart go pitty pat and thank God for his tender heart.  Of course, later in the day he made one of his brother’s cry, but I guess that means he’s normal. 

I’ve also been thinking again about my path in life.  At this point, sooner than later, I’ll be 40.  I have a few more days than 20 months until I’ll hit that BIG 4 0.  There is something about that number that says to me I should have “arrived” at my life by then.  I’m having this innate yearning to get up off my behind, quit making excuses and just do what it is that needs to be done. 

What is it that needs to be done?

Well, there are several things, plus a few more.

First and most tangible, I need to get back on the Weight Watchers wagon and get to goal so I can stop paying them a monthly fee.  I’ve stagnated because I like to use food as therapy.  Think of how much thinner I’d be if I just turned to prayer instead.  Yep, it’s my golden calf.

Second of all, I need to quit living, and allowing my family to live, in all the clutter in our house.  I will never have a perfect house, but I can at least have one that’s picked up a bit.  It would allow us to breathe a little easier.  I always know what I want to do to decorate, but live by the “if, then” theory.  If I can get “this” taken care of, “then” I’ll do that.  “If, then” is not working for me.  Dr. Phil would be proud of this conclusion.  This can be accomplished in a month’s time, so I’ll get back to you on the progress.  Would you like to see pictures?

Third, I do have a desire to write and publish.  I don’t do it consistently.  I haven’t submitted anything.  I look and lurk on writing sites, but don’t act. Here I am going to have to refer to the beloved Nike slogan and “Just Do It!”.  I have also come to the conclusion that consistent doesn’t necessarily mean every day for hours.  I do think every day is good, but I can’t immediately make expectations for myself that will set me up to fail.  Do you ever do that?  Go with the all or nothing mentality? 

OK, break time.

Last Thursday I took my mom to have outpatient surgery on her hand.  We had to be there at 5am.  Ugghhh!  It’s a good thing I love her – and she amuses me.  She knows me well and I know her well, so we can pick on each others habits. 

One of my habits, or traits, has been that I’m not generally a morning person.  I am much more so than I used to be, but this was a bit much for me.  She wanted to leave at 4:10am. 

WHAT?  Are you kidding me?

Her reply, “I’m not like you Elizabeth. I like to get to places on time”

Thank you for the dig.  I’ll be sure to return it later.

She was so sure I wouldn’t be ready because it was so early that she threatened me.

She, “What time are you going to get up?”

Me, “Not any before 3:30.”

She, “I want you to call me when you’re up so I know you’re up.”

Me, “OK, fine.  I’ll sleep with the phone so I don’t forget.”

She, “If you don’t call me at 3:30, I’ll be calling your house.  How else will I know you’re up?”

Me, “You cannot call my house that early – remember all those people that live there and will be sleeping?”

She, “I can and I will.  If I were you, I just wouldn’t forget.”

Me, “Then give me until 3:35 because I immediately go to the bathroom when I get up.  I find I can go no place else without placing the flooring in peril.  It happens after 4 kids.”

She, “3:35 – and that’s it!”

Yes, this is the relationship my mother and I have.  Oddly enough, I find it amusing.

I made it,  you’ll be happy to know.  She really was in my driveway at 4:10am.

You know, when you’re up that early, it does something to you.  My mom and I have always found odd things funny and we did that morning too.   Well, she did.

There were many little moments I could share.  I’ll spare you all but one.

We got there on time and of course had to wait.  They called her name and we went back into her room.  An army of personnel started filing in and out.  She had an attending nurse, a surgical nurse, the dr. and the anesthesiologist.  They all came in to make sure she was of sound mind and knew why she was there.  She convinced them she wasn’t crazy, even though there was a minute where they questioned.

It happened with the anesthesiologist.  He came in and said, “Hi.  I’m Chuck the anesthesiologist.”  She immediately started laughing.  He was very big and did not look amused.  I said, “What’s wrong with you?”

She said she got tickled because when he said Chuck the Anesthesiologist she immediately thought of Larry the Cable Guy. 

Yes maam.  She said it to Chuck the Anesthesiologist.

And she didn’t stop there.

I kid you not.

She went on to tell him she bet he had lots of funny stories of what people do as they’re going under anesthetic.  She said she bet he could have a really funny stand up routine.

He was not nearly as tickled as she was.

I, myself, was tickled at this point but decided to refrain until Chuck left because he was such a big boy and seemed to be serious about his job.

He left, we laughed.  I told my mom that I am tickled pink to know that I can continue to cause embarrassing moments for my children well into adulthood. 

Are you lost yet?  Have you run out of bread crumbs?

I’ll try and wrap the rest of this up rather quickly. 

I’ve covered The Weight, The Clutter, The Writing and My Strange Relationship With My Mother (aka She). 

Finally, I just basically want to not quit so easily at the end of the day. I don’t want to just get by in life.  God knows I get run down and tired daily, but He calls me to more.  I want to look different than those around me because He is in my life.  Right now, not so much.  I don’t think you’d see any difference between me and someone who says they’re not Christian. 

No More my friends!  It may seem like I’m having a 40 crisis prematurely, but I sure don’t want to get there and have excuses for why my life doesn’t look different. 

This is going to be a verse I lean on from now until then: “Be diligent in these matters; give yourselves wholly to them, so that everyone may see your progress.” 1 Tim 4:15 (NIV)

I really didn’t come around to this end in a smooth writing way, but it’s the gist of it and where I was going.  I’ll fill in the other parts later.

Have a great day brothers & sisters! 

Oh!  And just in case there ever is a Chuck the Anesthesiologist with a stand up routine, you can say you heard about it hear first!

Blessings & Hugs, Elizabeth

Responses

  1. I like to read your ramblings!

  2. Be set apart! That was theme last week at World Changers. Easy to do, but hard to do.

  3. Wow, that was a lot. I’ll bet you’re fingers were tired after this one. 🙂
    I’m with you on the WW wagon. I hate seeing that money go out every month, and knowing it is my own fault for not following the plan. It is a simple plan, but not an easy one. I get in the way of myself. Thanks for sharing this stuff honestly.
    And, come on…TWENTY months til you turn 40? That’s almost two years away! Don’t fret yet!

  4. OK…can I just say, I’m shocked your momma knows about Larry the Cable Guy. She just doesn’t seem like the Larry kind of Lady! Honestly, she gives me a little freedom…if Jackie does it, how bad can it be. Not really, he’s funny a lot but makes me squirm too. I’m such a square. Now you know.
    FYI you are not alone…diligence comes hard for me too…some days more than others.
    According to A.C. these ramblings can also be called conversation “Pop Ups” (like on the computer). I know a lot about those too…as you can see, my simple comment had turned very long…how many words are we allowed anyway?
    Hugs,
    Angie


Leave a Reply

Categories

