Posted by: simplyelizabeth | June 25, 2009

More Thoughts On Thoughts And Some Unrelated Items

Can you discern from the title that there might be a little bit of rambling involved again today? 

I’ll try to keep it to a minimum.

Really.

So I was all fired up yesterday.  I heard cheers coming from you – really.

Then reality hit. 

I went to Zumba last night and even though we live in the midwest, the temperatures we’ve been experiencing are a bit more like the Equator in August.  It totally wiped me out – but in a good way.  However, I was useless and defenseless against the desires of my flesh for the rest of the evening.  I gave into my fleshly desires and became a couch potato. 

I believe this is called brain damage.

Why didn’t I take my own advice and fall to my knees to pray for strength you ask?  (See above reference to brain damage.)  Also, it was like my backside had the world’s strongest magnet attached and it was attracted to the couch cushion.  Very strange.  Has that ever happened to you?

The next time I knock on my kids and what they’ve done that’s not so bright, remind me to humble myself because they have come by it naturally. 

So today is a brand new day.  Thank God for his mercies that are made new each day! 

What does today hold in store for me? 

I’ll have to get back to you on that because I’m not done consulting God in this matter at this time.

What I believe it holds in store is an all nighter to finish purging my house in order that I may a Jim Dandy of a garage sale this weekend.  I’m working for vacation spending money and I’d like to try the less is more theory in my home. 

If you’ve got too much to take care of, then you’ve got too much!  Get rid of it! 

Disclaimer:  this does not apply to children that reside within your home

Let’s start a new movement.  How about “Enough is Enough!” 

Well, that’s pretty unoriginal.

Hmmmmm.  Maybe “You Can Have Too Much of a Good Thing.”

Another Disclaimer:  this does not apply to chocolate

Now, an apology.  Evidently this is not what God has in store for me or I would be coming up with some really clever name for a group that could unite the world by decluttering their lives.  I bet it comes to me tonight around 2am when I’m almost delirious from purging my house and lack of sleep. 

What’s that? You say you don’t think I’ll be up at 2am? 

Oh ye of little faith! 

Of course, maybe I’ll get it done before and be able to sleep. 

Sleep is my second golden calf.  Once you lose out on it, you just can’t get it back.  I find that totally unacceptable.  You would find me totally unacceptable if you were around me after I’d missed out on some prime sleep time. 

It’s true.  I’m not always perky and cute.  Just ask my mom and my husband and my kids.  One of them, I don’t remember which one, lost a hand trying to wake me up for what I deemed unnecessary in the middle of the night.  It’s not as bad as it sounds.  We found it, got it reattached and now you’d never know it hadn’t been there the whole time – but they all know the perils of waking mommy now.  🙂

Well, I gotta go get at it!  Have a lovely day!

Blessings & Hugs, Elizabeth

Responses

  1. Quote around our house… “Too much of anything is a bad thing!”

  2. I hear ya…love the chocolate and sleep.
    And, I like to call myself a stupid Isrealite…I mean really, don’t you read those accounts and think “they are so dumb, can’t they see all God has for them?”. You would think we could learn from their errors…not yet for me.


Leave a Reply

Categories

