Posted by: simplyelizabeth | September 3, 2009

20 Little Things to Treasure About Autumn – II

Last year, Melissa at the Inspired Room did this and I loved it.  Melissa is such a neat person.  She’s authentic.

I love Fall!!!!!  Fall inspires me the way summer or spring inspires others. 

And don’t give me that malarkey about, “But it means winter and colder weather are coming.”

Who cares?!?  Live and love where you are.  If you don’t, you’ll miss out on the best parts of life.

So, I’ll quit with the lecturing and get on with it.  I’m sure many of my 20 things will be the same as last year, but I still treasure them. If you’ve got a blog, join in!  If not, tell me in a reply.

1.  The smell of Pumpkin Pie Crunch baking – this will always be number one! 🙂 

2.  The warm colors that surround you when your in the woods.

3.  The warmth of the campfire on a cold morning with a cup of coffee, pancakes & bacon.

4. The smell of wet leaves after and autumn rain.

5.  When it’s just chilly enough to wear a turtleneck and sweatshirt but no coat.

6.  Cinnamon & Apple candles burning.

7. Fall decorations – leaves, pumpkins and mums

8.  Going to a pumpkin patch and getting pumpkin butter to bring home.

9.  The smell of apples in an apple orchard store.  Mmmmm.  🙂

10.  Honeycomb – I don’t know that this is truly associated with autumn, but when I was growing up, we went to the same apple orchard every year and always got a jar of honey with honeycomb, so it goes together in my mind. 

11. A big pile of leaves to jump in – over and over and over again.

12. A weenie roast and hay ride.

13. The smell of my roast in my crock pot with carrots, potatoes & celery.

14. Chili & peanut butter sandwiches

15. The smell of anything baking – zucchini bread, pumpkin bread, chocolate chip oatmeal cookies – oh dear, I may have to make some of this when I get home. 

16. Carving pumpkins and baking pumpkin seeds to eat.

17. A really good  football game on a Saturday afternoon, wrapped up in blankets on the bleachers with a thermos of hot chocolate.  (I haven’t done this in over 10 years, but it’s a good memory.)

18. Getting cozy with the kiddos and hubby in the evening to watch a movie and eat some of hubby’s special popcorn that he makes.

19. Eating all the above mentioned foods – yes, I treasure eating.  Don’t mock.

20. Fall festivals and family time.

I think I could list more than 20, but I’ll spare you. 

I’d love to know what floats your boat about autumn. 

Gosh!  I even like the word Autumn.  Maybe it’s because it has the mmmmnnnn sound at the end and make me think of food. 

Blessings & Hugs, Elizabeth

Responses

  1. Autumn is my favorite season to!! I’m a thanksgiving baby so that just makes it all the better! I just love all the warm colors, and the chill in the air. The beauty of nature as it changes, and leaves falling from the trees. Of course there is always pumpkin pie crunch!!! 🙂

  2. I am not sure if I have ever taken the time to think of all the things I love about autumn. It is one of my favorite times of the year, mostly because temperatures and weather are not generally very extreme. I really enjoyed reading your list. God bless!


Leave a Reply

Categories

