Posted by: simplyelizabeth | October 13, 2009

I Can See Clearly Now

oct 09 027

This is DS#3. 

He started kindergarten this year.

He has had a hard time with learning the letters of his alphabet.  He’s already in an early intervention program to help.  Because of this program, he was screened at school for his hearing and vision.  The nurse called me to say that my baby failed his vision exam.  I said, OK, we’ll get him checked out.  We did so that weekend and as you can see,  he can now see. 

My poor baby could’ve had all the extra help and one on one intervention the world offers, but it wouldn’t have done him a bit of good because he couldn’t see it. 

Now, I don’t want you to think he’s been stumbling around and walking into doors for the past five years.  He has had his share of accidents, but nothing really out of the ordinary.  Unless you count those four fractures in one year, but the nice people at child and family services came to the conclusion that it was not our fault.  Rest easy in knowing we do not beat our children – even if it may seem like a good idea sometimes. 

Just kidding!

Really.

Seriously.

So when DS#3 was in getting his eye exam, the Dr. told me he had astigmatism in both eyes.  Apparently this can be in one or both eyes.  If you are not aware, it causes those who have it to see things with a distorted view.  Things just aren’t in focus.

But you know what?  If you’ve never seen clearly, you don’t know what the difference is. 

He got the glasses on Saturday, but really wore them for the first time on Sunday.  We went to my mom’s house after church on Sunday.  The boys were playing on their scooters in the driveway while we talked in her living room.  I looked outside and saw DS#3 lying on his back, in the grass, under a tree.  He was intently gazing up.  It occurred to me that he really hasn’t seen the leaves on trees before.  It simply looked like one big green puff ball on the top of the trunk.  I was excited for him to discover new things, but saddened that he’s missed out up until now.

This all prompted me to think about my Christian walk.  Isn’t this the way we are before we find Jesus?  Don’t we too have a distorted view of the world?  Do we know what we’re missing out on seeing?

Even though I’ve been walking with Jesus for 20 years, I know there are seasons where my view becomes distorted again.  I don’t believe to the extent it was before, but none the less, there’s distortion.  It is so easy to look at the world through the eyes of the worldly. 

Isn’t it?

The eye doctor said that we would have to come back every few months for the first year because DS#3’s prescription would change that often.  He said the lenses would retrain his brain/eyes to see without distortion.

Hmmmmm.

Let my prayer be today that God retrain my brain to see His plans, His calling, His world without distortion.  Let me see it clearly, Lord.

Blessings & Hugs, Elizabeth

Responses

  1. what a good way to put it!! I never really thought about it like that!! 🙂

  2. Love that prayer, we all need that every day!


Leave a Reply

Categories

