Posted by: simplyelizabeth | November 5, 2009

I’m baaaaaack . . . . . and Thankful!

Today I will share with you that I am thankful for crude humor in our house.  I know it sounds awful to be thankful for that, but it really does crack me up.  It’s also God’s safeguard for me to keep me from a.) going insane over potty humor and b.) smacking little people. 

God is so good. As you can see from choice b., He keeps me from getting in trouble with the law.

This was the conversation this morning.  DS#1 is going to school for the first day this week because he has had the dreaded flu. 

DS#1, “That nap Grandma made me take really made me feel better.”

DS#2, “I know what you mean.” giggle giggle

DS#1, “What?”

DS#2, “You toot when you sleep and that probably made your tummy feel better.” louder giggles

DS#1, “I don’t do that.” said whilst laughing in a near uncontrollable state

DS#2, “Yes you do.” raucous laughter and all hope of containing the situation is gone.

DS#2 had another discussion about toots last week.  He was home with me last week because had a sinus infection. 

Before I knew he had a sinus infection, I took him to the dr. in the big city. 

My momma happened to be in the big city.  We met up at Baskin Robbins to get some ice cream to make DS#2’s throat feel better.  It made us feel better too.  We sat in the car together and ate our ice cream.

I must divulge what happened there.  I passed gas.  DS#2 thought it was gross, but cool – because he’s a boy.  There’s a point to this.  Really. 

Later, he told me he missed his daddy and was going to write him.  I said, “Awwwww.  I think that is so thoughtful.”

DS#2 brought me three pages he’d written and stapled together to make a book for his Daddy. 

Isn’t that adorable?

I read the following:  Daddy i missed you today.  We ate ice cream in Grandma’s car and mommy tooted.  (page 1)

You are the best. (page 2)

I like you the most. (page 3)

And that was the end of the story.  I’ll have to take pictures of it and post them on here tomorrow so you too can share in the glow of honesty and love that children possess. 

It just touched my heart that he would want to share the day with his dad like that. 

These are what real family momments are made of people!

And for this, I’m thankful.

Blessings & Hugs, Elizabeth

Responses

  1. I guess you should be thankful that it’s not worse than that!! It could be……and may be in the future. The big boys think the grosser the better.

    Thanks for the laugh!!! 🙂

  2. My family is very much like this too. And I must say, even grown adults (women) in my family have hearty laughs about toots and other bodily functions. It’s just a part of life for us!


Leave a Reply

Categories

