Posted by: simplyelizabeth | November 10, 2009

Friday on Tuesday – Sort Of

Today I am thankful because I get the day off tomorrow.  Not only do I get the day off, but my kiddos do not. 

Yes, I realize that sounds heartless and uncaring.

Let us remember I’m an only child and I feel the need to reconnect with onlyness periodically.  It will make me a better mommy and wife. 

Do you know that I haven’t gone to the bathroom by myself, in my house, in the last 364 days? 

Not that I’m counting.

Also, it has been 9 years since I was able to be in charge of the remote control in my humble abode. 

Do I hear an Amen?

And then there’s the fact that I can’t remember the last time I was able to listen to “my” music throughout the house without snide remarks.  ( I like musicals and live with manly men who do not.)  I want to be able to belt out Oklahoma or a Phantom tune and not have those around me look as if I just escaped from the loony bin. 

Yes, people look at me that way every day, but not if there’s no one around to see.

Ha!  I can tell you’re amazed at my clever mind.

I also love Contemporary Christian and Praise & Worship which agree with the people in my home, but the TV does not get turned off simply to listen. “We” might miss something.

Hmmmm.  How much do we miss because the TV is on, not off? 

OK, I’ll steer clear of that question quickly because it could get way too deep fast and I believe in keeping this blog light-hearted and full of fluff. 

Can I have another Amen!

And with that being said, I will forewarn you that tomorrow I’m going to be spilling gooshy feelings of thankfulness.

I want you to appreciate my range of writing.  Also, I would think that you all know by now that I have a tendency to be random. 

So now, I think that will wrap it up for today. 

Go be thankful!  Count your blessings and share them – it will make you feel better.

Blessings & Hugs, Elizabeth

 

Responses

  1. Ahhhh, enjoy your day of oneness with yourself!!! How jealous I am!!! 🙂

    • Yep, Not sure that has ever happened to me either, alone at home all day…this new concept needs explored!! Alone with my husband is another one I would like to try out again! TMI?

  2. I had 3 days of that this week – 3 days of me off & the kids in school. Troy worked one of them & was sick one of them. It was so fun – I got so much accomplished! See, I would get things done if I didn’t have to work!!


Leave a Reply

Categories

