Posted by: simplyelizabeth | November 12, 2009

Thankful, Thankful, Thankful

I truly am full of thanks.  Yesterday I got my aloness in the morning and my mama came to help in the afternoon for a bit.  I then had a tad more aloneness before those other people who live with me came home. 

It was a good thing.

Thanks to my mama I got my kitchen seats recovered.  They desperately needed it.  We used fabric samples and they turned out lovely.  I think I need to devote a post to the project.  They just look nifty!

Last night we all ate at the table and I must say it was delightful – after we established yet again there is to be no talking of bodily functions.

I feel renewed today from my time.  I woke up refreshed this morning and I started a Bible study on self control and discipline.  I’m doing it myself because it is what I lack and it keeps my home/life from being what it needs to be.  I hesitate to say this, but I believe once I get started I’m going to share. 

Self Control – It’s a bitter Fruit of the Spirit for me.  I pray that God make it sweet through His word.  I do have a killer sweet tooth and it would like to be satisfied by this particular fruit. 

I’ll let you know how it’s going in a week or so.

So, speaking of sweet tooths, I had me some Pumpkin Pie Crunch Tuesday and yesterday.  Mmmm, mmmm, good sistas and brothas!  If you’ve forgotten what it is, check it out here. 🙂

Oh yes!  It wouldn’t be this time of year if weren’t thankful for bountiful harvests and kitchens filled with the wonderful aroma of things baking.

That’s my humble opinion. 

Food is so often a theme in my life.  I’ve said it before and will say it again – I’m afraid it’s my Golden Calf.  I’d slay it, but then I’d eat it too so I’m not sure what good that would do me.  I’m going to have to rely on Self Control. 

Yuk!  Yuk!  Yuk!  It sure is bitter.

God will be working with me on that.

Be thankful for the sunshine today if you’re in this neck of the woods.  Share something you’re thankful for dear people.  It does your heart good!

Blessings & Hugs, Elizabeth

Responses

  1. Oooh, first here too, and this is yesterday’s post. Think I’m becoming a computer junkie or something, if I’m here before all others??!! Self-Control in the food area, eek. Not a strength of mine! Remember how much I love Pumpkin Spice Milk…it doesn’t end there! Thankful for the sunshine and friends like you! Hugs!

  2. We have a “no talking about video games” rule at our dinner table.
    -d


Leave a Reply

Categories

