Posted by: simplyelizabeth | November 17, 2009

Baby Mine – The 2nd Baby

Today is DS#1’s birthday. 

Isn’t he precious?  Well, of course he is here because he’s standing still.  That didn’t last long.

Ahhhhhhhh.  I remember it like it was yesterday. 

In the middle of the night my water broke and I sat straight up.  DH did too. That hadn’t happened before and it was a strange sensation – I’m guessing for both of us.  We packed up DD and took her to Uncle Jeff & Aunt Jaime.  (Thanks again guys!)  We took off to the hospital and a mere 14 hrs and 23 minutes later we had a bald baby boy. 

Once we got through the labor, delivery was a piece of cake.  (Hmmmm.  I could make this metaphorical for my life with him, but I’ll spare you – today. Ha Ha Ha Ha laugh in an evil tone)

Life has never been the same.  It never is when you introduce a new life into your family. 

DD was no longer an only child – and she still holds him personally responsible for the travesty of it all.

He adores his sister though.

We were blessed indeed.  He’s bright, funny and respectful to all that don’t live with him.

He’s 9 today. 

I love that when he wants love, he wants me.  Well, as long as he’s not mad at me for some injustice I’ve caused.

I love that he’s not afraid to show affection to others.  I think others like that too. 

I love that he looks up to his Daddy.

He loves his family and family ties are important to him. 

I can’t wait to see the man he’s going to be. 

I fibbed.  I can wait. 

Once, when I was 10, my Daddy told me he wished I could stay that age forever.  At the time I had two thoughts.  One was, “Are you kidding me????  Stay 10 forever????  I’ve got stuff to do and I can’t do it if I don’t progress beyond 10!” The other thought was, “He’s a silly man, but I love him.”  

I understand now.  It all goes too quickly.

Happy Birthday buddy!

Now, all of you get out there and hug a kid you love!

Blessings & Hugs, Elizabeth

Responses

  1. The thought that kept racing through my mind on the day Noah turned 9, was “Oh my goodness, we’re halfway to 18!” It made me sad.

    Happy Birthday Adam!!!

  2. What a darling little boy!! They do grow up SO FAST!!! My ‘little boy’ just isn’t that anymore – BUT in a mother’s mind, he will always be “MY LITTLE BOY”!
    How is Katie doing? I’ve thought of her often. Hope everything works out for all of you.
    I owe your mother a phone call. At the end of the day, I think “I SHOULD HAVE CALLED”, but never do. Guess I spend too much time on the computer!!!
    Take care. Love you.

  3. He’s a keeper, Katie will agree some day too!

  4. I remember the day he was born too ——– but, oh my, it can’t possibly have been 9 years ago ! I hope sweet Adam had a wonderful birthday. Hugs to all.


Leave a Reply

Categories

