Posted by: simplyelizabeth | December 29, 2009

Short, But Sweet

I wanted to share two quotes from my little darlins’ that touched me.  They touched me in very different ways, but none the less, they touched me.  

I guess I’m touchy feely today.

Hahahaheeeeheeee ho     uh hum. 

It’s not so go when I crack myself up

I will start with our church’s Christmas Eve Eve service.  That’s right – Christmas Eve Eve.  We had our candle light service on Wednesday instead of Thursday.  It was a little odd for some, but it worked out great for my family. 

So, on with the story.  There are always more people in special services than regular services.  I guess that’s why they’re special.  There seemed to be a lot of families with restless children.  The youngest of children started loudly voicing their objections to sitting still  a bit more than half way through the service.  It was at this point that my eldest son leaned over to the eldest member of our family – my mama – and said, “I thought we were at church, not a baby convention.”  And it was also at this point that the hand of God kept my mama from laughing uncontrollably and further disrupting the service. 

Don’t tell me God doesn’t perform miracles any more!

The other quote is what every parent shoots for on Christmas Day.  After the little darlins’ woke us up at 3:30am – no, that is not a typo – my hubby and I spent most of the rest of the day in a semi-conscious state.  We did play with them and their new goodies and engage with them as parents should, but we were on auto pilot for the most part.  We ain’t as young as we used to be and sleep is a precious commodity in my book.  The kiddos will confirm we are officially “old”.  It wasn’t what I would call a particularly spectacular day, but there was little infighting among the troops and the mood was generally good.  I asked at the end of the day if they all thought it had been a good day.  They all agreed and then DS#2 said, “It’s been the best day of my life!”  Wow.  All 7 years and 2 months of it.  Him saying that immediately made it one of the best days of my life as well. 

Blessings & Hugs, Elizabeth

Responses

  1. Confession… my son was the loudest @ the baby convention. Apologies to all eve eve service attendees! lol Glad your Christmas was the best!


Leave a Reply

Categories

