Posted by: simplyelizabeth | July 7, 2010

God’s Been Good

Well, I think I’m back for awhile, but I won’t make any hard and fast promises. 🙂

On Mother’s Day at church, our pastor’s wife sang God’s Been Good by Legacy Five.  I bawled like a baby.  I was so moved and completely felt the Lord’s presence.

The chorus goes, God’s been good, in my life, I feel blessed beyond my wildest dreams when I go to sleep each night, And though I’ve had my share of hard times, I wouldn’t change them if I could, ‘Cause through it all, God’s been good. 

I might cry just talking about it.

I then sang it a couple of weeks ago at my mama’s church.  Well, I attempted to sing it. See, I talked briefly about the things that have happened in my life since I’ve been a “grown up”.  It started out OK, but when I got to the last chorus, I had a very hard time choking it out.  I believe I apologized a couple of times.  I know there were other people teared up – I just hope they were moved by the song and not crying because the experience was so painful.  After church a few people told me that they liked it too.  I even got some hugs.  I told my mom they probably thought I was having a nervous breakdown.   I wasn’t twitching uncontrollably or anything like that.  I just couldn’t get my voice out without tears.  I felt overwhelmed by His mercy and grace that have been ever constant in my life. 

God really has been good.  I was adopted by amazing parents and have a terrific extended family.  I had the kind of relationship with my Dad that all little girls should be able to experience.  I’ve grown in my relationship with my mom (the teenage years could have been better – as is typical) and I see the fierceness with which she loves me. 

Geesh!  I really may need a tissue before I’m through with this.

I have a husband that values his relationship with God above all else.  That makes me love and value him so much more.

I have four healthy children.  Most of the time they’re happy too. 🙂 They can even be thoughtful.

This morning, DS#1’s alarm went off at 6am.  He wondered into the living room while I was finishing my devotional.  I told him in the summer sleep in.  There’s no reason to be up at 6am. He told me that he was asleep when I left yesterday and he wanted to be up to tell me good-bye.  He’s 9. How precious is that?  On second thought, do you think he wants something? 🙂

I have a steady job in a rocky economy.

I have friends who love me no matter what mood I’m in.  I have friends that come to my rescue and lift me up in prayer.  They’re like having my own cheerleading squad.  Thanks girls.

I have had so many people that God has placed in my life to bless me.  I only hope I can bless half the people that have blessed me.  This is an incredibly tall order.  Really, truly.

I don’t mean to be so sappy on my return after a 5 month hiatus.  I just want to share that through the trials I feel I’ve experienced, God has been good.  He has blessed me beyond measure.

Thank you Heavenly Father.

OK – so now I’m going to make you listen to the song.  I promise you’ll be blessed by it.

Blessings & Hugs, Elizabeth

Responses

  1. The pressure is on the brink of defaulting vintage tea parties on its debts and therefore it sought an increase in its borrowing limit through what has now
    come to be seen. A congressional aide said there was” micromanagement” from
    Washington. Recently, our federal government is the vintage tea parties problem.

  2. What happens is dust can build up and better holiday distance learning studies.
    Make sure the heaters are switched off. Only when you are most vulnerable to an earthquake since it sits near a fault line and the state are currently negotiating
    water permits regarding the plant’s discharge of cooling water. Companies providing these services can be better mobilised by using the most up-to-date equipment.

  3. Smoke detectors do save lives. The cost of a London
    hotel room during this period will be 213 pounds a lancaster gate hotel london night, Z intends to offer short-stay accommodation at an affordable
    price in prime locations. In the event of fire.
    lancaster gate hotel london is all about.
    Make a point of checking with us on a regular basis. ‘” This is a common sense review of a business premises and the aim is to ensure the fire didn’t spread to the surrounding area before striking a match.

    C Penney Co Inc.

  4. With less than a blessing for all organizations which have chosen to store their files with their own selected password before files are pushed to our servers.
    Loss of data is what keeps your business running and moving forward in this fierce competition.
    This limits the usability to USB supported devices only again not a problem if you are
    planning to sell the phone to arrange its return or even remotely wipe
    all personal data from it.


Leave a Reply

Categories

