Posted by: simplyelizabeth | August 19, 2010

I Will Always Be In Awe

It’s been about a month since I last posted.  Summer officially ended for the boys yesterday with the first day of school.  Summer will officially end for my girl next Monday.  I’m looking forward to some sort of routine. 

There will still be much chaos, but there will be purpose in getting ready the night before to get ready in the morning.  I know what I meant by that sentence – did you?

Thought I would share a conversation and an incident.  First the conversation.

Last Sunday I took the boys swimming.  DS#1 took a friend with him.  Much fun was had by all.  On the way home, DS#1 lifted his arms up to stretch and put them behind his head.

DS#3, “I see your armpit hair.”

Me, “He doesn’t have armpit hair.”

Many giggles

The Friend, “I do!”  in an excited tone.

I believe I looked on in horror because these boys are just going into the fourth grade.

DS#3, “Can I see your armpit hair?” said in awe.

Me, “I believe is not at all appropriate to ask to see someone’s armpit hair.”

The entire van erupted into hysterics.

Lord, will you please excuse me from conversations regarding hair anywhere other than heads where my boys friends are concerned.  Thank you. Amen.

Now, to the incident.  I went to iron my shirt this morning and saw something that was not water in the reservoir.  I smelled it, because that’s what mom’s do. Thank goodness it wasn’t an unpleasant odor.

I asked the likely suspects what this was in my iron.  Do you believe nobody knew? 

Amazing!  I know I didn’t put something in there that doesn’t belong and I know my husband doesn’t even use the thing – unless he’s feeling desperate.  That leaves three other possible culprits in the house and they know nothing.

I ignored it, rinsed it out and plugged it in.  All of the sudden it hit me.  This smells like our spray on sun screen.  It’s a pleasant smell, but not at all meant to be in iron water reservoirs. 

Another thought quickly hits.  DS#3 really likes the smell of the spray on sun screen.  He tried to deodorize his room with it a couple of weeks ago. 

I turn to the kitchen table where my three little darlin’s are eating breakfast and say, “DS#3, did you put the spray sun screen in the iron?”

No, do not read an understanding, sweet tone into this.

He had a blanket around his shoulders.  He quickly pulled the blanket over his head and said, “I don’t want to get in trouble.”  (sob, sob)

I said, “Too bad!  You should have thought about that before you did it.  I’ll have to tell you what the punishment is later.”

I still don’t know what the punishment is, but I feel there should be some sort of consequence.  The steam button won’t work.  I love my steam button.  I don’t think I can live with an iron without a steam button.

Any suggestions?

Twenty lashes with a wet noodle? No dinner for a week? Hang him from the ceiling fan by his toe nails?

I just don’t know.

Maybe I should just move away or at the very least give myself a vacation. 

Weigh in on this weighty subject.

Blessings & Hugs, Elizabeth

Responses

  1. Make him do the ironing!
    Angie

  2. I’m so sorry I am just now reading this…..I agree with Angie! I hate to iron, and that is the worse possible punishment I can think of!

    You’ll have to let us know, what you came up with!! =)


Leave a Reply

Categories

