Posted by: simplyelizabeth | April 4, 2012

Made To Crave

Hopefully this will bring us together more than once a week. 🙂 If you’re here and not doing the Made to Crave study, I bet you can still find some fun and learning with us.

I have a confession.  Last night, before leading the discussion for our Bible study, I ate chocolate out of frustration.  Home had irritated me.  If I’d been wise, I would have gone to Proverbs and asked for wisdom on how to handle the situation that was in front of me.  Instead I left home to go “study” before the study.  In doing so, I had skipped dinner.  I wasn’t really hungry anyway.  Even though my tummy was telling me I did not need to eat, my mind told me I had a Dove chocolate bar in my purse.  What does hungry have to do with available chocolate?  Not at all what the study was about the week before or this week either.

Thank goodness, as I’d shared Aaron said last night, God still loves me. 

So there you go.  I flew against the teachings and then preached what I didn’t practice. 

Because of my missteps, I felt inclined to look up Proverbs 9 today.  I’m reading them chapter by chapter and this was the next one.  I would like to share what God placed before me today.

Proverbs 9: 13-18 

13 Folly is an unruly woman;
   she is simple and knows nothing.
14 She sits at the door of her house,
   on a seat at the highest point of the city,
15 calling out to those who pass by,
   who go straight on their way, 
 16 “Let all who are simple come to my house!”
To those who have no sense she says,
 17 “Stolen water is sweet;
   food eaten in secret is delicious!”
18 But little do they know that the dead are there,
   that her guests are deep in the realm of the dead.

Food eaten in secret is delicious.  Let all who are simple come to her house. 

It was in secret and it was delicious, but I dare say a sense of deadness followed me home.  I did not try to resolve my issue.  I ignored it.  And ate some pita chips and humus.  She invited me in and I went willingly – almost gleefully.

Please don’t fire me but forgive me.

So my prayer today is to truly let the Holy Spirit intercede and remind me where it is I need to go for comfort and strength.  (That would not be the Dove bar, pita chips or hummus.)  I will be doing my lesson tonight to help it all sink into my “simple” mind.  I believe the Lord may call it brain damage. 🙂

Let’s share what we’re dealing with – shall we?

The good thing is that I have dinner planned and will be starting on it when I go home at lunch. 

We gotta start somewhere sister and this is the place for me.

Blessings & Hugs, Elizabeth

Responses

  1. Way to go Elizabeth with having the dinner planned. I plan for
    the week and honestly it isn’t hard when you get used to it. If I
    can do anyone can. I enjoyed the study last night and all your
    honesty. You truly have a gift leading the study…and I am reading
    Proverbs tonite.
    Thanks!
    Love,
    Tammy

    • Thanks for you kind words Tammy. :) I’m enjoying this study too!

  2. Elizabeth…I think we all can relate….I’m gonna try hard to plan…it is a challenge for me….but there again…..I need to let the Holy Spirit guide me…..I too struggle with a husband who wants his “meat and potatoes” and no funny stuff. LOL….I enjoyed your leadership and thank you for doing it…I thank LuEllen also!!! This study is just what I need and I’m praying that it will help each and everyone! Love the blogging!! I too will read Proverbs again…Blessings….Patty

    • Just keeping it real my sister. LOL We live in a fallen world and sometimes, we can’t get up – with the Holy Spirit that is. 🙂

  3. Elizabeth……………what a blessing you are to me! You did a great job last night and it just goes to show God can use us even when we don’t “feel” like we are living like we know we should. It’s being faithful to Him and available even in our weakness. I think each of us can relate to your struggles because we are facing our own. This study is doing some amazing things in our lives. Even tho it is not just about food it is sure making us think about our relationship to God, which is exactly what we are supposed to do. I appreciate all of the ladies who are coming and sharing. I am looking forward to next weeks session! Love you LuEllen

    • You are an amazing blessing to me Lu. 🙂 I always admire your grace and don’t give up the hospitality. It is very much a gift. I love being the recipient of it. LOL

  4. Boy can I relate to your blog. Thanks for sharing. I did some meal planning today. First I planned todays meals & a couple of days in advance. Felt good about doing it too! I used to do meal planning all the time, writing it out, but since it’s only the 2 of us, I have gotten in the habit of just eating what’s available. And sometimes that’s not the best choices. I am glad we are doing this study, I think it will be a blessing to all of us. Thanks to you & LuEllen for leading.
    Love,
    Carolyn

    • Meal planning is going to be a biggie for me. My pork roast turned out great and all of the boys liked it. When I can be successful with the boys it becomes easier.


Leave a Reply

Categories

